SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 10, 2008, 02:35 PM
United States, CA, Berkeley
Joined Feb 2007
1,271 Posts
Question
Cars for almost 5y/o twins??

Hello.... I'm a model airplane pilot, so first time over with you guys in the Car dept. I have a 25 y/o tamiya Grasshopper RC car that I fired up last night (with modern electronics), and it is Fast as He$$!! Too fast for my kids.

I'm looking for something for xmas season for my two 4.5 y/o boys. I looked at the Losi line a bit, and the Associated models. I think RTR is probably the way to go with this age, but I dont want to buy total crap! I'm trying avoid the Target landfill phenomenon. I'm an experienced builder, so Kits dont scare me off.

Any recommendations appreciated. I'd like to be able to slow them down for training/safety purposes, early on in the process.

thanks

Ben
skinnydoc is offline Find More Posts by skinnydoc
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 10, 2008, 03:45 PM
Mississauga Ontario Canada
Joined Jan 2006
753 Posts
Maybe the Losi Micro-T? You can just put in the smallest pinion gear to get it to moove slower. They can be alot of fun indoors!
RC flight is offline Find More Posts by RC flight
Old Nov 10, 2008, 04:41 PM
Joined Feb 2007
1,271 Posts
burly enough?

are they somewhat durable?

are the parts pretty available?

can they be used in moist environments?

(if you can ans any of these questions.... thanks!!)

Ben
Old Nov 10, 2008, 06:11 PM
If it flies, I can crash it.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Joined Nov 2003
1,507 Posts
skinnydoc,
They are extremely durable, my two year old even stepped on my Micro t with no damage. Used inside and out. Check u tube and see some of the stunts people do with them.
Steve
sleb is online now Find More Posts by sleb
Old Nov 11, 2008, 09:56 PM
Joined Aug 2008
73 Posts
very durable, very affordable, and very very cheap parts. i mean i am 24, 6' tall and 180lbs and i have pretty much full on stepped on mine and did not have it break!