HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 03, 2015, 07:35 AM
Marty, Louisiana USA
Joined Jan 2015
83 Posts
Question
OSD needed

I have a simple fpv set up. It is a flying wing with two servos, a 600 mw fat shark transmitter and an fpv camera. My monitor and receiver is the black pearl and I also interchange this with the uno 5800 receiver. My question is does anyone make an on screen display device that I can add to this set up? It is weird flying fpv with no screen information at all. Thanks Oh. And I am using spectrum gear (receiver and radio - dx7s)
arbtmn is online now Find More Posts by arbtmn
Last edited by arbtmn; Mar 03, 2015 at 07:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 03, 2015, 09:58 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom
Joined May 2013
305 Posts
Hobbyking do several small and cheap OSD's, some as basic as a battery voltage and others which show more information like altitude, speed, latt/long etc. Look on the forum for the 'uOSD' thread which provides customisations for some of these units.

Chris
hangarspace is offline Find More Posts by hangarspace
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2015, 10:42 AM
Marty, Louisiana USA
Joined Jan 2015
83 Posts
Thank you
arbtmn is online now Find More Posts by arbtmn
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2015, 06:43 PM
Marty, Louisiana USA
Joined Jan 2015
83 Posts
I noticed this thing called the cyclone which has RTH, and other nice features in addition to OSD stuff. Anyone have good luck with this thing? Or is there something else out there like this one? I have the eagle tree vector and for now I wish I would have gone with something much simpler
arbtmn is online now Find More Posts by arbtmn
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2015, 10:00 PM
Team Warpsquad
Mr.Aaron's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined May 2009
1,024 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by arbtmn View Post
I noticed this thing called the cyclone which has RTH, and other nice features in addition to OSD stuff. Anyone have good luck with this thing? Or is there something else out there like this one? I have the eagle tree vector and for now I wish I would have gone with something much simpler
why would u want a cyclops when you have a vector? the cyclops storm or Tornado is very good.
Mr.Aaron is offline Find More Posts by Mr.Aaron
Last edited by Mr.Aaron; Mar 03, 2015 at 10:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2015, 10:04 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Folsom
Joined Jun 2006
180 Posts
I have a vector on my fpv wing and a minimosd on my quad running multiwii. I'm happy with both in their different applications. The vector is nice because it's an all-in-one unit. If you already have components (like a multiwii or dji FC) there are different firmware projects that you can load on the minimosd to get what you want.. or you can use the minimosd with multiwii firmware to have a minimal on screen display without many sensors. If you go with the minimosd, I recommend the minimosd with the breakout pins from readytoflyquads
boogyman is offline Find More Posts by boogyman
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2015, 10:59 PM
What goes up... must crash!
wdog's Avatar
United States, AR, Fort Smith
Joined Jan 2012
232 Posts
That vector you have there is one of the best around
+1 for the vector
wdog is offline Find More Posts by wdog
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2015, 06:58 AM
Marty, Louisiana USA
Joined Jan 2015
83 Posts
ok Thanks for the input everyone. I will work with the vector. So there is a cable I can use to plug the miniosd into my set up? I thought I could only use it on the phantom.
arbtmn is online now Find More Posts by arbtmn
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2015, 11:17 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Folsom
Joined Jun 2006
180 Posts
if you go with the vector, you won't need the minimosd. the vector has an OSD built-in.
boogyman is offline Find More Posts by boogyman
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2015, 06:02 PM
Marty, Louisiana USA
Joined Jan 2015
83 Posts
right. If i run into some connectivity issues with my vector where could I go to ask? I looked all over you tube and everything is very vague. Perhaps I could ask here?? thanks
arbtmn is online now Find More Posts by arbtmn
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2015, 06:46 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Folsom
Joined Jun 2006
180 Posts
There's an eagle tree thread here on rcgroups:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2032857

There's also a pretty comprehensive manual for the vector on the eagle tree website.. I highly recommend reading that before you purchase.
boogyman is offline Find More Posts by boogyman
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 05, 2015, 05:33 AM
Marty, Louisiana USA
Joined Jan 2015
83 Posts
I wish I would have done that. But we will see what happens. Thanks boogie.
arbtmn is online now Find More Posts by arbtmn
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Need osd/vtx wiring help!!! duffman118 FPV Talk 3 Jan 02, 2015 03:17 AM
Discussion need help with apm 2.6 and osd cool_t5 Multirotor Electronics 0 Nov 29, 2014 12:54 PM
Discussion Need advice. Which OSD supports 2 flight battery current sensors BadgerRC FPV Equipment 1 Oct 29, 2014 07:33 AM
For Sale Cyclops Storm OSD w/Programmer ***Price Drop**** need to sell. SDSURFnGLIDE FPV Equipment (FS/W) 16 Oct 20, 2014 03:04 PM
Discussion Need help setting up dual batterys on Cyclops OSD Nova bw5493 FPV Talk 0 Sep 28, 2014 06:11 PM