HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 17, 2012, 12:08 PM
United States, WA, White Salmon
Joined Mar 2012
10 Posts
Question
Want to learn how to buil balsa planes

Ive been flying foam planes for several months now and am wanting to get into balsa planes and was wandering if anyone has any good pointers for a good beginer rc balsa wood plane kit to buy so I can learn the inside of a planes airframe. That way on my spare time and the weather is to crappy to fly outside I could build that and fly the foam while the weather is nicer. And by the time I finish building the balsa plane I would be descent enough to fly it.
NicholasIrwin is offline Find More Posts by NicholasIrwin
Last edited by NicholasIrwin; Mar 17, 2012 at 12:09 PM. Reason: new to the hobby
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 17, 2012, 12:47 PM
United States, NY, CENTRAL VLY
Joined May 2011
1,029 Posts
I don't know what your experience is, but if you have a Horizon/Parkzone UM or Champ in your lineup, you can use those bricks and motors is some great kits.

Stevens Aero has a few fantastic ones that practically fall together and are basically a class on building. You will learn a lot towards future designs or conversions, regarding servo placement, etc... I have 5 now, but my first was their Hummingbird. I built it in 3-4 evenings, spent another few hours covering and adjusting and it has been my hands down best flyer.
ausf is offline Find More Posts by ausf
Old Mar 17, 2012, 11:11 PM
Australia, QLD, Ipswich
Joined Sep 2008
1,250 Posts
Ausf mentioned Stevens Aero kits or also Mountain Models along with Park Scale models will all teach you alot about the basics of building.
luke352 is online now Find More Posts by luke352
Old Mar 17, 2012, 11:55 PM
CP heli ≠ 3D heli
United States, NJ, Point Pleasant Beach
Joined Mar 2009
1,674 Posts
Find a VERY flat table first, or get a building board. I can't stress a straight surface hard enough, else your plane will come off that surface crooked.