HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 26, 2015, 10:12 PM
Joined Jun 2014
184 Posts
Discussion
Calypso or Phoenix 2000

Im a beginner with some experience looking to get a 4 channel motorized glider with ailerons & flaps.

NOT INTERESTED IN THE RADIAN OR RADIAN PRO.

Anyone owned both the Calypso & Phoenix 2000?
Which is the better glider?
I intend to use these as they were designed as a Park Flier- climb & glide
sachmo is offline Find More Posts by sachmo
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 27, 2015, 10:29 AM
noob
United States, NE, Broken Bow
Joined Oct 2014
41 Posts
Sounds like a difficult decision to make.

Maybe you better just get both.

-- Scott
NB0W is offline Find More Posts by NB0W
Old Jan 27, 2015, 10:55 AM
MK
NJ
Joined Feb 2001
1,248 Posts
I'm in the same predicament. And I'm throwing in the Kunai to the mix (and sometimes ROC Hobby V-tail too!). I have been going back and forth on all three on a daily basis for the past month or so. Talk about psychosis! I'm going to probably wait until the WRAM show to see if I can get any deals.

I too do not want a Radian or Radian Pro.

Here are my reasoning:

Calypso:
Good parts support. Huge cavity for battery. Reasonable cost with Tower coupons. Really no report of bad characteristics. For me, I wanted to custom paint it so I'm not sure how easy the decals come off.

Phoenix 2000:
Cheapest of the bunch. About 100 grams heavier. Parts support questionable. Stock motor tends to overheat. Any initial issue you have to deal with HK (even with US warehouse). Comes pure white ready to paint! Less of a RTF than the Calypso. Good if you are a tinkerer/builder. More things to get busy with.

Kunai:
Light and fast. Probably the best floater of them all due to lighter weight. Can be flown slow or fast. Cavity is TINY so you really have to work on getting the battery in. Can cut open the nose scoops for better cooling. One piece wing, may be a transport issue. Similar price to Calypso when done.

ROC Hobby: