HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 13, 2014, 12:59 PM
Which way is it blowing?
San Francisco, CA
Joined Feb 2009
350 Posts
Question
Biplane Slope Wing?

I have a combat wing already and thought since I have two combat wings that my brother gave me, it might be fun to experiment.
Has anyone done this or seen it done?

I figure vertical carbon rods and coroplast end plates.
Full elevons on both wings linked with vert. rods.
It may only need one set elevons, but start with two to begin?

Alignment and balancing might be tricky.
SF Sloper is offline Find More Posts by SF Sloper
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 13, 2014, 01:24 PM
Confirmed Chronic
Pacific Palisades, CA
Joined Jul 2004
9,208 Posts
Looks cool. I'd try it.

The topic of slope biplanes comes up every now and again and the conventional wisdom seems to be that they are too draggy to be much fun, but you shouldn't let that stop you. I'd keep all the radio gear in the bottom wing to keep the top wing light.
screamin' eagle is offline Find More Posts by screamin' eagle
Old Feb 13, 2014, 02:04 PM
SlingWinger
San Bernardino, California, United States
Joined Oct 2004
1,629 Posts
Check out the "Easy Riser" and "Icarus" biplane hang gliders.

This is a project I've thought of trying myself, but instead of using two combat wings, My idea is to build a large, superlight floater glider for when the conditions get too light for most gliders.

While the biplane configuration is aerodynamically "dirty", it has the potential of providing the strongest-for-the weight structure.

This is why most of the early aeroplanes were biplanes. The engines they had were heavy and didn't have a lot of power, so to keep the power loading and wing loading down they had to have the lightest possible structure.

Octave Chanute, an early pioneer that worked alongside the Wright's, was an engineer and saw the advantage of using the truss "bridge" structure as a way to get maximum wing area for minimum frame weight.