Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 23, 2010, 09:29 AM
Plane Insane RC.com
chicken hawk's Avatar
Spanish Fork Utah
Joined Mar 2005
1,327 Posts
So I ordered the parts to build one of these triwiicopters. I already have 2 tricopters and both are using gyros for stabilization. Now I’m starting to wonder, what are the benefits to using the wii motion? Will the tricopter be more stable with the wii than it will with 4 gyros?
Ryan
chicken hawk is offline Find More Posts by chicken hawk
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 23, 2010, 09:43 AM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Paris, France
Joined Jun 2009
756 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JUERGEN_ View Post
too many small interrupt for the processor ?
much jitter

probably a separate CPU for multiple Rx?
like this - http://api.ning.com/files/S4lVE1TFiI...anual_v4_2.pdf

jürgen
Decoding a PPM pulse sum requires nearly the same amount of interrupts. The work is just concentrated on only one PIN.
I don’t think it would reduce significantly the jitter.
Alexinparis is offline Find More Posts by Alexinparis
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2010, 09:51 AM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Paris, France
Joined Jun 2009
756 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicken hawk View Post
So I ordered the parts to build one of these triwiicopters. I already have 2 tricopters and both are using gyros for stabilization. Now I’m starting to wonder, what are the benefits to using the wii motion? Will the tricopter be more stable with the wii than it will with 4 gyros?
Ryan
Yes, for sure. The difference is real.

Look at this video: 3 gyro Telebee + 1 Esky
Tricopter (6 min 23 sec)

the stationary state is not very stable

and the last triwii one:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1261382

It's the same frame (23cm distance motor to center) and equivalent motors

You can find very stable config with 4 gyros, but with longer arms
Alexinparis is offline Find More Posts by Alexinparis
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2010, 09:54 AM
xxxxxxxxxxxxx
JUERGEN_'s Avatar
Deutschland
Joined Nov 2009
660 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinparis View Post
Decoding a PPM pulse sum requires nearly the same amount of interrupts. The work is just concentrated on only one PIN.
I don’t think it would reduce significantly the jitter.
handover via UART?


jürgen
JUERGEN_ is offline Find More Posts by JUERGEN_
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2010, 10:07 AM
Plane Insane RC.com
chicken hawk's Avatar
Spanish Fork Utah
Joined Mar 2005
1,327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinparis View Post
Yes, for sure. The difference is real.

Look at this video: 3 gyro Telebee + 1 Esky

the stationary state is not very stable

and the last triwii one:

It's the same frame (23cm distance motor to center) and equivalent motors

You can find very stable config with 4 gyros, but with longer arms
Thanks, thats what I wanted to hear. I use my tri copters for AP and video so more stability is always welcome.
chicken hawk is offline Find More Posts by chicken hawk
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2010, 11:54 AM
FPV Junkie
tazdevil's Avatar
somewhere in space
Joined Aug 2006
674 Posts
this is a motor who was bad, I change the tree controler it's the same.

need to change my motor tomorow

wait and see
tazdevil is offline Find More Posts by tazdevil
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2010, 04:29 PM
Ready to fly MRs
Sid3ways's Avatar
Swanton, OH
Joined Jul 2007
5,041 Posts
Any Tri-frames available you guys would recommend?
Sid3ways is offline Find More Posts by Sid3ways
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 12:37 AM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
4,067 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid3ways View Post
Any Tri-frames available you guys would recommend?
Y-UFO parts are the one I know if you want the standard three motors with servo tilt yaw control.
They should have a winner if they make a smaller nano version of a standard tri.

Finally got my wii's and chucks in. Even these fake motion plus's have the blasted screws with nonstandard nintendo screw heads. At least the chuck has regular phillips screws.

For anyone getting a chuck, don't get the MadCatz chuck from target. It might work but the chip is just a blob of black material. There is no way to tell which accelerometer is in it.
RCvertt is offline Find More Posts by RCvertt
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by RCvertt; Jun 24, 2010 at 01:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 12:49 AM
Ready to fly MRs
Sid3ways's Avatar
Swanton, OH
Joined Jul 2007
5,041 Posts
Yeah I had my eye on the Y-UFO frame, it looks like a nice start. I see you mention you bought the chuck too. I thought this code Alex is using does not support the chuck? Or are you using the Baron pilot code?
Sid3ways is offline Find More Posts by Sid3ways
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 01:47 AM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
4,067 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid3ways View Post
Yeah I had my eye on the Y-UFO frame, it looks like a nice start. I see you mention you bought the chuck too. I thought this code Alex is using does not support the chuck? Or are you using the Baron pilot code?
I'll start off with this to get familiar with what just gyros can do. My bad flying skills require a stable mode that gives stability similar to the walkera UFO5 so I'll check out the Baron project also. Then I'll come back here for round two when the chuck gets integrated
RCvertt is offline Find More Posts by RCvertt
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Chupacabra sighting !!!
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 08:35 AM
Member FPV UK
IWCoburg's Avatar
Isle of Wight, UK
Joined Apr 2010
729 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid3ways View Post
Any Tri-frames available you guys would recommend?
I have got both of mine form averticalview.com. Started off with their basic Tri and now building the Folding Matrix. See http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1265051

Mike.
IWCoburg is offline Find More Posts by IWCoburg
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 03:28 AM
Droner
SebastianJ's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, CPH
Joined Mar 2006
2,410 Posts
Hey Bob,

Did you ever make it work?

I really like the price of the Arduino clone.


Sebastian.

Quote:
Originally Posted by signguy View Post
Hi Alexinparis

Here is my controller ready to go into its frame. I used a RBBB arduino clone and a Wii MP. Lots of wires! But it should be way less than my gyro only copter. I will get a mini pro after I get this working. I did uncomment the speed control line, and it compiled and uploaded perfectly.

I have almost no experience with the arduino, or any other "chips". Is there a way I can modify the P I D parrameters without an LCD?

I don't mind having to re-upload sketches. Once it is set, I'll leave it that way.

Thanks for the project!!

BobD aka signguy
SebastianJ is offline Find More Posts by SebastianJ
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 03:38 PM
Registered User
signguy's Avatar
Swansea, Massachusetts
Joined Dec 2004
2,088 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas10an View Post
Hey Bob,

Did you ever make it work?

I really like the price of the Arduino clone.


Sebastian.
Hi Sebastian

No, I haven't got it to work yet. I'm going to pick up another WM+ just in case I cooked the one I had. I did assemble the arduino and get that running OK. It seems the WM+ isn't starting. I get no controls at all, but my speed controls arm OK. Alex is helping me along. I really hope I can get this going, its hard to beat it for price or size. It is lots smaller than I thought.

See Ya
BobD
signguy is offline Find More Posts by signguy
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2010, 11:50 AM
Brushless
cdi3d's Avatar
Joined Mar 2009
2,029 Posts
Alex - Is this something that can be easily adopted to a quad? Or is it strickly for a tricopter? Great work - I am waiting for my WII motion and I am ready to build it -

Mike
cdi3d is offline Find More Posts by cdi3d
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2010, 03:37 PM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Paris, France
Joined Jun 2009
756 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdi3d View Post
Alex - Is this something that can be easily adopted to a quad? Or is it strickly for a tricopter? Great work - I am waiting for my WII motion and I am ready to build it -

Mike
Hi,
There is already at least one existing quad options for WII motion plus+Nunchuk: Aeroquad.
However for a WII motion plus only quad version, the Triwii code could be easily adapted.
Alexinparis is offline Find More Posts by Alexinparis
Last edited by Alexinparis; Jul 28, 2010 at 03:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools