New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old May 12, 2011, 03:47 PM
Ryderboy is offline
Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Cambridge Plateau, NSW, Aust
Ryderboy's Avatar
Joined May 2011
49 Posts
Discussion
Futaba T12FG programming help needed.

Hi Folks,

I just brought a T12FG and as it seems to be the case with others I'm finding
the manual a little hard to understand. I guess it is written for more experienced
types than I. Anyways I have a Radian Pro which I have installed the R6014HS
receiver. The Model type is set to Glider with the 2Ail-2Flap and tail set to normal.
I am using the channels that were automatically set by the Tx and it is
running in "Multi Channel" mode

Ch1 Elevator
Ch2 Rudder
Ch3 Motor
Ch4 Aileron
Ch5 Aileron 2
Ch6 Aux 5
Ch7 Flap
Ch8 Flap 2
etc...etc...

I have managed to get Butterfly working in the Model menu, But what I would
like to do is create a mix or mixes that I could assign to switch "SD" and have
say the bottom posi' the mixes are off, the middle posi' Flaps with elevator.
Then the top posi' Flaps with elevator and introducing up Aileron to create
Butterfly.

I would be using this as my landing mode. But being completely knew to
programming and after several hours playing around and searching the
net all I'm getting is frustrated. Maybe if there is another kind user of
this great Tx or other similar unit could walk me through a few tips on
proramming. I have figured out a few things like the switch a assignments
and end points the AFR D/R...etc...etc....

Or perhaps there is a resource that I haven't found on the net I could be
pointed to where some examples of different programming can be found.

Any help would be greatly appreciated by this user.

Rob
Ryderboy is offline Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 13, 2011, 02:49 AM
Ryderboy is offline
Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Cambridge Plateau, NSW, Aust
Ryderboy's Avatar
Joined May 2011
49 Posts
bumpty bump
Ryderboy is offline Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 06:58 AM
oakman7004 is offline
Find More Posts by oakman7004
Team WC2013 F3K
oakman7004's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Dec 2004
1,043 Posts
What I do is using the conditions (phases).

You activate the phases in TRIM MIX and assign them to switches or joystick. Then you can set each and every condition as you like 100% independent of eachother.

Would this help?

/Jonas
oakman7004 is offline Find More Posts by oakman7004
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 07:08 AM
oakman7004 is offline
Find More Posts by oakman7004
Team WC2013 F3K
oakman7004's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Dec 2004
1,043 Posts
Another thing....the Futaba 8FG programming is coming out of the 12 so the excellent tutorial (even though it is electric glider) from Malcom Holt here on RCG might give you ideas...

But for me, the conditions is my solution for the setup on a glider! 3 flight conditions on a switch and landing on the stick usually is enough for most people...

/Jonas
oakman7004 is offline Find More Posts by oakman7004
Last edited by oakman7004; May 13, 2011 at 07:09 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 07:11 AM
Harri Pihl is offline
Find More Posts by Harri Pihl
Registered User
Suomi, Länsi-Suomi, Uurainen
Joined Jan 2004
709 Posts
You should use flight conditions for this, as an example:

Condition 1: No mixes, switch SD on centre position
Condition 2: Elevator flap mix, SD up
Condition 3: Butter fly, SD down

In every mix menu (or swithc, rate or any other menu) you can define the setting to be group or single. In other words, if you want, as example, that butterfly is on in all conditions, you set it as group. If you want butterfly on just in one given condition you set it as single. Same way you can set, if wanted, different kind of butterfly for each flight condition and so on... the possibilities are pretty much endless and the best way to learn this is just play with radio some time. Learning takes more than couple days but once you understand the general procedure, it will be easy.
Harri Pihl is offline Find More Posts by Harri Pihl
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 09:12 AM
Ryderboy is offline
Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Cambridge Plateau, NSW, Aust
Ryderboy's Avatar
Joined May 2011
49 Posts
Hi Harri and Jonas

Thank you for your replies and advice.

Harri I seem to be able create Conditions and set them to the switch posi's
as you have laid out, including assigning Butterfly in Condition 3.

Just cant seem to get the elevator flaps mix going or worked out. How do I
do this? Create a mix for each of the three Ch's ie; elevator, Flap and Flap2
and assign them to the same switch posi? or do I create a mix that includes
all three Ch's.If so how do I do that.

Jonas, thank you for posting that document.

I appreciate the help from both of you.

Rob

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harri Pihl View Post
You should use flight conditions for this, as an example:

Condition 1: No mixes, switch SD on centre position
Condition 2: Elevator flap mix, SD up
Condition 3: Butter fly, SD down

In every mix menu (or swithc, rate or any other menu) you can define the setting to be group or single. In other words, if you want, as example, that butterfly is on in all conditions, you set it as group. If you want butterfly on just in one given condition you set it as single. Same way you can set, if wanted, different kind of butterfly for each flight condition and so on... the possibilities are pretty much endless and the best way to learn this is just play with radio some time. Learning takes more than couple days but once you understand the general procedure, it will be easy.
Ryderboy is offline Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 03:25 PM
Ryderboy is offline
Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Cambridge Plateau, NSW, Aust
Ryderboy's Avatar
Joined May 2011
49 Posts
bumpty bump
Ryderboy is offline Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 04:40 PM
Harri Pihl is offline
Find More Posts by Harri Pihl
Registered User
Suomi, Länsi-Suomi, Uurainen
Joined Jan 2004
709 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryderboy View Post
Just cant seem to get the elevator flaps mix going or worked out. How do I
do this? Create a mix for each of the three Ch's ie; elevator, Flap and Flap2
and assign them to the same switch posi? or do I create a mix that includes
all three Ch's.If so how do I do that.
I assume you mean elevator-camber mix.

First go to model menu, choose ELE->CAMBER. Roll on until you reach the screen where you see ACT/INH, highlight it and change it ON and select GROUP or SINGLE.

Now roll the menu until you reach Aileron screen and adjust the movement of each aileron (AIL and AIL2) to both directions. Then roll on to Flaps screen and adjust the movement of each flap same way.

Done
Harri Pihl is offline Find More Posts by Harri Pihl
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 07:29 PM
Ryderboy is offline
Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Cambridge Plateau, NSW, Aust
Ryderboy's Avatar
Joined May 2011
49 Posts
Ok done that, what I'm getting is just flaps and no Aileron movement.

Mind you I'm only watching for the changes via the Servo monitor.

When you say "adjust the movement of each aileron (AIL and AIL2) to both directions"
are you saying either one or the other is in the +% and the other -%?

Also can I have or set Elevator compensation in the Buttery mix in the Model Menu.

Thanks for your help, sorry if I'm sounding like a dummy.

Cheers
Rob

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harri Pihl View Post
I assume you mean elevator-camber mix.

First go to model menu, choose ELE->CAMBER. Roll on until you reach the screen where you see ACT/INH, highlight it and change it ON and select GROUP or SINGLE.

Now roll the menu until you reach Aileron screen and adjust the movement of each aileron (AIL and AIL2) to both directions. Then roll on to Flaps screen and adjust the movement of each flap same way.

Done
Ryderboy is offline Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 11:35 PM
Harri Pihl is offline
Find More Posts by Harri Pihl
Registered User
Suomi, Länsi-Suomi, Uurainen
Joined Jan 2004
709 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryderboy View Post
Ok done that, what I'm getting is just flaps and no Aileron movement.

Mind you I'm only watching for the changes via the Servo monitor.

When you say "adjust the movement of each aileron (AIL and AIL2) to both directions"
are you saying either one or the other is in the +% and the other -%?
Easiest way to do this is turning power on the plane, pull or push full elevator and adjust the movement of each control surface (AIL, AIL2, FLAP and FLAP2) to the desired amount and desired direction from ELE->CAMBER menu. You'll see the effect realtime, you might have something wrong on the basic setup if you don't get aileron movement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryderboy View Post
Also can I have or set Elevator compensation in the Buttery mix in the Model Menu.
Yes, there is elevator setting menu under the Butterfly menu. Note that you should set some off-set (say 15%) and then adjust Rate1 and Rate2 (new firmware versions have off-set pre-set).
Harri Pihl is offline Find More Posts by Harri Pihl
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 04:48 AM
Ryderboy is offline
Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Cambridge Plateau, NSW, Aust
Ryderboy's Avatar
Joined May 2011
49 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harri Pihl View Post
Easiest way to do this is turning power on the plane, pull or push full elevator and adjust the movement of each control surface (AIL, AIL2, FLAP and FLAP2) to the desired amount and desired direction from ELE->CAMBER menu. You'll see the effect realtime, you might have something wrong on the basic setup if you don't get aileron movement.
Couldn't seem to get Ail and Ail2 working in ELE-CAMBER menu, just flaps. So
this is what I have managed to do.

Cond-1 = normal
Cond-2 = ELE-CAMBER for Flaps + Trim Mix 1 for elevator compensation.
Cond-3 = BUTTERFLY + Trim Mix 1 for elevator compensation.

All seems to be working now. Although I'm confused as to why i needed to
go to TRIM MIX1 for Elevator compensation. When in Butterfly for instance
adjusting the Elevator section didn't do anything I could see, like you have
suggested below.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Harri Pihl View Post
Yes, there is elevator setting menu under the Butterfly menu. Note that you should set some off-set (say 15%) and then adjust Rate1 and Rate2 (new firmware versions have off-set pre-set).
I made a sling and have hung my glider from the ceiling, which is heaps better
I can roll around under it on my swivel chair.
Ryderboy is offline Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Last edited by Ryderboy; May 14, 2011 at 04:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 05:17 AM
Harri Pihl is offline
Find More Posts by Harri Pihl
Registered User
Suomi, Länsi-Suomi, Uurainen
Joined Jan 2004
709 Posts
The most probable reason for ailerons not working is that you have done it on "push" side instead "pull".

Anyway, there is virtually hunreds of ways to reach same effect with this radio. So... what ever floats your boat
Harri Pihl is offline Find More Posts by Harri Pihl
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 11:46 AM
Ryderboy is offline
Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Cambridge Plateau, NSW, Aust
Ryderboy's Avatar
Joined May 2011
49 Posts
Not Quite, I may be not very experienced in this sort of thing... but definitely
a tinkerer so probably wont be happy until I work out why I couldn't have
set it up like you have mentioned... but that is just me. I can say one thing
this Tx makes my old DX6i look pretty tame, but the more I play with it the
more I learn and like it.

With the Elevator setup in Butterfly where you said "Note that you should set
some off-set (say 15%) and then adjust Rate1 and Rate2". Are you talking
about the first screen where that curve setting operation is? and do I
need to set 15% offset (or any offset) before Rate1 and Rate2 have any effect?

Not really sure what you mean by "push" and "Pull" side. Are these up and down
limits?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harri Pihl View Post
The most probable reason for ailerons not working is that you have done it on "push" side instead "pull".

Anyway, there is virtually hunreds of ways to reach same effect with this radio. So... what ever floats your boat
Harri I really appreciate you taking the time to help me mate! I'd still be
fumbling around and knocking my head against a brick wall if it weren't for
you advice and help.

Just need to set up Camber and Reflex on a slider would be fantastic.
I'm going to maiden the TX today.

Cheers
Rob
Ryderboy is offline Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Last edited by Ryderboy; May 14, 2011 at 11:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 06:57 AM
Harri Pihl is offline
Find More Posts by Harri Pihl
Registered User
Suomi, Länsi-Suomi, Uurainen
Joined Jan 2004
709 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryderboy View Post
With the Elevator setup in Butterfly where you said "Note that you should set
some off-set (say 15%) and then adjust Rate1 and Rate2". Are you talking
about the first screen where that curve setting operation is? and do I
need to set 15% offset (or any offset) before Rate1 and Rate2 have any effect?
The offset is needed to tell the radio that butterfly stick or slider is on one extreme when not in use. This used to be pretty much most common question on butterfly mix before the new firmware versions added offset automaticly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryderboy View Post
Not really sure what you mean by "push" and "Pull" side. Are these up and down limits?
I mean that your ailerons might be moving when you push elevator stick forward but not moving when pulling the elevator stick. Try all the aileron rate settings on aileron sub-menu of the ELE->CAMBER menu, you should be able to find the right ones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryderboy View Post
Just need to set up Camber and Reflex on a slider would be fantastic.
I'm going to maiden the TX today.
Again there is many ways to do camber and reflex on a slider. I would do it this way:

1. Assign the wanted slider for the CAMBER function on LINKAGE/FUNCTION menu. The default setting in my FX-30 (euro version of the 12FG) is that VC1 (virtual channel 1) CAMBER is assigned to slider LS. So this might be allready done for you, if not, just add CAMBER to a virtual channel and choose the wanted slider.

2. Go to MODEL/CAMBER MIX menu and enable the mix and choose SINGLE or GROUP based on your needs.

3. Now choose AILERON on the box on right side of the same screen to set the curve and rate. Roll on until you reach second screen where the rates are set. Then just put the camber slider to top or bottom and dial in the wanted amount of camber or reflex for each aileron.

4. Go back to main CAMBER MIX screen and choose FLAP on the same box and do similar adjustment for each flap. Note that this is easiest when you have power on the plane; you see the reaction immediately.

5. If you want elevator compensation then choose ELEVATOR from the same box and do the compensation same way.

Note again that his is just one of the many, many, many ways to do this on the 12FG/FX-30.
Harri Pihl is offline Find More Posts by Harri Pihl
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 03:19 PM
Ryderboy is offline
Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Cambridge Plateau, NSW, Aust
Ryderboy's Avatar
Joined May 2011
49 Posts
Thanks for the feedback Harri,

Yup I see the 15% offset is there


All the control surfaces seem to work how they should. I'm thinking the reason I might
not be seeing responses was I might not be assigning switches in the Linkage
menu>Function menu for ButterFly?

I gave the T12FG a go yesterday and did figure out Camber and Reflex. Boy it certainly
changes the gliders ability when you can incorporate those features into your flying.

I'm wondering would I be able to make Camber proportional on the slider? instead of
just Off and On. Even perhaps something like where the centre of the slider is neutral
and one direction it is Camber the other it is Reflex.

Cheers
Rob
Ryderboy is offline Find More Posts by Ryderboy
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Futaba T10CAG or T12FG C206 Radios 34 Oct 29, 2014 05:42 AM
Discussion ==>> Programming Futaba T6EXP for LAMA/HELIXX/47G/SKYLIFT??? Help needed... :)) hermagor Coaxial Helicopters 5 Mar 26, 2008 08:46 AM
Discussion Futaba T12FG Freq list lesterpk Radios 1 Jul 02, 2007 09:16 AM
Futaba 8UFPS programming help needed Destroy Electric Plane Talk 3 Oct 07, 2001 06:28 AM