HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 08, 2014, 07:55 AM
United States, FL, West Palm Beach
Joined Sep 2014
38 Posts
Discussion
How much does precision matter?

I'm pretty handy and will be able to get things pretty close but I want to set my expectations realistically. I've never actually built something like this before, all of my craftiness is in working with wood (building workbench, chair railing, trim accents, etc). I am confident I can get things within a few mm's. Will that be close enough. As in other hobbies, failure can be a difficult pill to swallow. But I have had good luck so far with my Blade 350 and UMX Radian.

Unfortunately as a noob I ordered a FlySky T6 with a receiver but it's not compatible with my current flyers. Now I have three options: Return is and suck up the restocking fee, sell it here, or build a plane big enough to carry FPV equipment. I always like a challenge and have been watching the videos from Experimental Airlines on YouTube. I feel confident and I have a Dollar Tree 3 minutes from my house for an endless supply of foam.

I guess we all have to start somewhere. I like the Axon from another thread in the scratchbuild section. Opinions?
lucky53s is offline Find More Posts by lucky53s
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 08, 2014, 08:04 AM
Gravity sucks
United States, NY, Albany
Joined Sep 2011
560 Posts
Hack out a couple Flite Test planes and see how you like it. FPV gear will work well on their Versa wing and it's not a hard build. Plus it's good practice for how to deal with foam. Or just follow EA's videos and cut away, but the Flite Test stuff has plans you can follow to make it easier your first time.