SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 30, 2012, 01:25 PM
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,046 Posts
Discussion
which way you turn?

i will appreciate if any of you could tell me which way you turn to get into a thermal, and then which way you do to stay in it.
or if you change direction for a reason.
i fly rc sailplanes, and i have been flying into thermals with free flight planes for many years trimming the plane to the left, as everybody does in free flight.
i also have been watching birds, and most of them turn left. sometimes among the flock, a few turn right. also recently watched 8 buzzards taking-off and climbing to the right into a thermal, all of them.
this intrigues me, so that's why am asking you guys this.
or if some1 can provide data on which way thermals turn.
i also have been told by a guy who flies paragliders that thermals turn same way as dust devils.
i hope this does not upset some1 thinking the question does not belong to this forum, but i can't think of a better place to ask it.
this is not a beginners topic.

if there are links of the topic please provide them.
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 30, 2012, 05:14 PM
slope'n the Colombian Andes
Colombia, Antioquia, Girardota
Joined Mar 2001
4,692 Posts
Phil, nobody gets upset so long as you leave the Coriolis force out of it... : )
Which way to turn into a thermal depends on which side of the plane it's on. Very simplified: if the left wing lifts up, thermal is on the left, turn left; and vice versa.

Dieter Mahlein, ShredAir
ShredAir is offline Find More Posts by ShredAir
Old Oct 30, 2012, 05:39 PM
Joined Jul 2007
5,046 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShredAir View Post
Phil, nobody gets upset so long as you leave the Coriolis force out of it... : )