Standing Athwart History
United States, TX, Dallas
Joined Mar 2011
651 Posts
Discussion
TECHone Hobby EPP Funfly ARF Build/Fly/Re-Build

Howdy:

Introduction

I am relatively new to the hobby. My son and I have been hitting the simulator for a year or so and I have progressed up to a 4-ch RTF ultra-micro (PZ T-28), while my son is still trying to make the transition from simulator. He is pretty young and has difficulty with both orientation of the ultra-micro 3-ch we have (HZ Champ) and with any breeze.

Objective

First and foremost, a 3-ch park flyer sized trainer made from EPP my son can more easily discern orientation on and that will be a bit better in mild wind conditions than our current 3-ch UM.

A secondary objective is as a complement to my growth in flying skills: I aim to grow in building skills. Start with an ARF (this project), move on to a kit, and then, maybe, a scratch build.

Research & Reviews (plus Hobbyking Tuff Trainer)

I did a lot of research for an EPP fixed wing trainer. Turns out, ARF/PNP/kit EPP trainers are rare as hen's teeth and is mostly a scratch build proposition. Two presented themselves, though they really are the same model in the same way that every 1980s-era Chrysler/Dodge/Plymouth was the same K-car.

Those two models were the TECHone Hobby Funfly EPP (FF) and the Hobbyking Tuff Trainer (TT).
http://www.techonehobby.com/proview.asp?id=296
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=16808

They differ in that the FF has old-school rounded trailing edges on elevator & rudder, while the TT's are straight. Also, the TT has evolved a bit and now can be had in 4-ch configuration with a bottom battery hatch.