New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Feb 03, 2016, 02:33 PM
pekote is offline
Find More Posts by pekote
Registered User
pekote's Avatar
Argentina, CH, Puerto Madryn
Joined May 2013
170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Implicit View Post
If the FC is not behaving, then hitting RTL could be equally disastrous.
You are correct, I should switch to MANUAL mode or may be STABILIZE, but everything was pretty fast... since the time I switched to CRUISE till crash there was about 10 secs...

When I switched to CRUISE, everything was normal, just low altitude nothing more, but few secs later, I realized that the plane was going directly to the ground...
pekote is offline Find More Posts by pekote
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 03, 2016, 02:41 PM
GFergy is online now
Find More Posts by GFergy
New York Highlander
GFergy's Avatar
United States, NY, Vermontville
Joined Apr 2012
2,619 Posts
Very true! ☺
GFergy is online now Find More Posts by GFergy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2016, 06:40 AM
bathas is offline
Find More Posts by bathas
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
58 Posts
Hello,can anyone tell me whitch parameter do I need to change,to add more roll angle to FBW modes?Thanks.
bathas is offline Find More Posts by bathas
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2016, 06:16 PM
flipflap is online now
Find More Posts by flipflap
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
2,423 Posts
I don't have MP in front of me, but it was in the basic parameters screen, where the PID parameters can be modified. And I think it's named "max roll angle".
flipflap is online now Find More Posts by flipflap
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2016, 02:02 PM
geofrancis is offline
Find More Posts by geofrancis
nothing is unfixable
United Kingdom, Scotland, North Ayrshire
Joined Feb 2010
1,427 Posts
if your plane ever stalls, the apm will fly it into the ground, it cant recover from a stall so manual is the only thing that will save you.

basically the problem is that if the plane stalls and starts rolling nose down the apm just sees that the nose is down and keeps trying to pull up and never gain enough airspeed to regain control and will do this right into the ground.

the only way out is to hit manual, stop the roll then pull up before it hits the ground .
geofrancis is offline Find More Posts by geofrancis
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2016, 04:16 PM
flipflap is online now
Find More Posts by flipflap
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
2,423 Posts
Well I think it depends on the airplane. On my easyglider I made a lot of stall recovery tests and find APM very quick to recover if it's correctly tuned. Let's say in maximum 3 seconds it recovers from any stall. I'm mainly flying in FBWA and CRUISE modes.

But the plane I'm using is very stable by design, maybe you're using a flying wing or something more sensitive.

If the plane is going nose down, at least on my plane in manual it's OK to immediately simply pull the stick, I can't imagine a plane where this would brake it so much that it can't gain speed. In FBWA just centering the sticks recovers from any situation.

But my plane being a glider, it's always trimmed so that in FBWA mode without motor it's exactly on its glide angle.
flipflap is online now Find More Posts by flipflap
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2016, 04:17 PM
RC Man is online now
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
20,599 Posts
They added stall pretension logic. Make sure that you spend the time setting up the stall pretension parameters. I have never had a stall with a properly setup airplane.


.
RC Man is online now Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:09 AM
Artful Owl is online now
Find More Posts by Artful Owl
Registered User
Artful Owl's Avatar
New Zealand, Canterbury, Christchurch
Joined Dec 2011
723 Posts
Dose anyone know where I can find a full list of APM plane firmware?
Artful Owl is online now Find More Posts by Artful Owl
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:13 AM
flipflap is online now
Find More Posts by flipflap
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
2,423 Posts
https://github.com/diydrones/ardupilot/releases
flipflap is online now Find More Posts by flipflap
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:56 AM
Artful Owl is online now
Find More Posts by Artful Owl
Registered User
Artful Owl's Avatar
New Zealand, Canterbury, Christchurch
Joined Dec 2011
723 Posts
Thank you sir.
Artful Owl is online now Find More Posts by Artful Owl
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:51 PM
Greg Covey is online now
Find More Posts by Greg Covey
AMA 697691 / FAA 13675
Rochester, NY, USA
Joined Aug 2000
9,503 Posts
For those using a Skywalker 1680 with APM plane, what is a good setting for WP_LOITER_RAD in meters? Will a 50 meter radius be ok or too short?
Greg Covey is online now Find More Posts by Greg Covey
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Greg's Web Hangar
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:30 PM
iskess is online now
Find More Posts by iskess
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
United States, HI, Kailua
Joined Feb 2012
2,668 Posts
Ardupilot on Planes

It depends on how tight a loiter you want. It will easily fly a 50m radius. That's a circle the length of a football field.

At 30mph a 50m radius only requires a 20 degree bank angle.

At 30mph a 45 degree bank will give you a 20m radius.
iskess is online now Find More Posts by iskess
Last edited by iskess; Today at 02:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:44 PM
Greg Covey is online now
Find More Posts by Greg Covey
AMA 697691 / FAA 13675
Rochester, NY, USA
Joined Aug 2000
9,503 Posts
Ok, thanks for the info. A 20 degree bank angle should be good for my Skywalker so I'll initially try a 50 meter radius.
Greg Covey is online now Find More Posts by Greg Covey
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Greg's Web Hangar
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:48 PM
RC Man is online now
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
20,599 Posts
I use 60 because it gives a little smoother turn, especially if you have a crosswind.

.
RC Man is online now Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:17 PM
gbmarsh is online now
Find More Posts by gbmarsh
Wait...what?
gbmarsh's Avatar
Canada, BC, Abbotsford
Joined Sep 2010
2,048 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Man View Post
I use 60 because it gives a little smoother turn, especially if you have a crosswind.

.
Agreed, I've tried smaller radius turns on my Bixler2 and the transitions can be quite harsh. 60m radius seems to be the sweet spot.

Cheers,
Geoff
gbmarsh is online now Find More Posts by gbmarsh
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Swapping electronics to HK Bixler or Bixler 2 High_Octane Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 2 Apr 07, 2013 06:22 PM
Help! Need help with my FPV uav project. Soren64able Engines 9 Feb 02, 2013 05:00 PM
Sold HK Bixler with Retractable FPV Camera Mount....will trade crd FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Sep 24, 2012 08:39 PM
Sold FPV HK Bixler $35 Orcoz Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 10 Aug 07, 2012 03:25 PM
For Sale Ardupilot Mega APM V1/900 MHz Xbee/Bixler Chassis - $300 shipped justjason Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 2 Jul 13, 2012 02:22 PM