Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Dec 09, 2013, 07:29 PM
Clovis CA
Joined Dec 2004
84 Posts
Discussion
Sunnysky Tri-copter motor selection

Hey guys,
I've started the process of laying out my first tricopter build. I've been flying 450 Pro and 500 size FBL helis for a couple years so I have some general knowledge. After much reading, I decided to base my build off the RC Explorer tricopter design. I'll be starting out with the new Kk2.1 FC and a set of 20a Afro ESCs on a 450 sized scratch built tricopter frame made from wood.

Here's where I'm having difficulty. I'd like to start out using my 3S 2200mah heli batteries since is have plenty from my 450 Pro heli. I'd also like room to grow in case I decide to add a gopro and use larger batteries. I want to use Sunnysky motors to start but which one. Considering my 3S 2200mah batteries and no video platform to start, I'm not sure if the Sunnysky KV980 II is better or with the potential for video and larger batteries is the KV800 II the way to go. Or... is the only significant difference between the two motors cost.

So... as I sit here in my hospital bed recovering from this morning's surgery feeling pretty good from the pain meds, I'd really appreciate a little nudge in the right direction. My feeling is go with the KV800s but I don't have the experience to know if they'll be hard on my 3S batteries. Maybe the KV980s would be best with my 3S batteries and still have plenty of potential for carrying a camera platform. Which way would you go and why?

Thanks guys,
Dave
Scarman is offline Find More Posts by Scarman
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 09, 2013, 11:04 PM
gyro, simonk n call it a day
United States, NJ, Hamilton Township
Joined Jan 2013
274 Posts