HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 29, 2013, 09:06 AM
United States, CA, Lincoln
Joined Jan 2011
691 Posts
Discussion
Fms ask23

Other than my RZ Radian, this is my first glider. I briefly had the FMS Fox, but sold it to a friend because it seemed beyond my abilities. Now I'm determined to fly a glider and would like some input on necessary mods, techniques, etc. I have added an additional 18" strip in each wing for a bit more stiffness plus changed all the foam hinges to CA hinging. I have several years experience with planes...just no gliders. Thanks in advance.
6Sally5 is online now Find More Posts by 6Sally5
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 12, 2013, 06:15 PM
Joined Aug 2009
79 Posts
It looks very much like the ASW28 from BH and people seem to really like that sailplane. The spec are about the same as the ASW28, BH says the ASK23 is 50mm longer. I also have years of fixed and rotary wing stick time under my belt. I just ordered one so if you haven't gotten one yet I will update you after it arrives. It seems the major complaint is tip stalling when too much elevator is applied. Kind'a like a Super Chipmunk. We will see in a week or two...
Low Hover is offline Find More Posts by Low Hover
Last edited by Low Hover; Feb 12, 2013 at 06:18 PM. Reason: specs
Old Feb 22, 2013, 08:08 AM
Joined Aug 2009
79 Posts
ok. I put it together in less than an hour. Including seperating servo leads for the ailerons and cutting out a space for the ESC. I have been flying nitro and electric birds for years and I gotta say this is different. I now have to practice using the rudder as apposed to bank and yank... I only flew a couple of times and had to make several approaches on each attempt to land because I was not used to the glide slope. It really did not do anything unexpected and actually had pretty stable flight charistics. Over all I like it... Here is the maiden from the top of the canopy with a #18 keyring camera.
ASK23 Maiden Flight wlmp (9 min 13 sec)