HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 21, 2012, 02:26 PM
Joined Dec 2011
33 Posts
Alert
Building your own (bipole) antenna: The quarter wavelength roundup for beginners

Hi all,

I've been reading a lot about home made antenna's and have read some very helpfull tutorials. However there seems to be a lot of different and scattered information with different approaches and formula's which can be a bit overwhelming and may result in mistakes after all... Sometimes even the obvious for the seasoned guy can be quite confusing for the beginner. So I thought I'd make this post in an attempt to shine some light on the subject from a beginners perspective. Please note I'm not a electrical engineer of some sort, so I'm just trying to get things clear from a 'end user perspective' with moderate soldering skills, which in my case is making antenna's for a ground vehicle. I also might not get everything exactly right, so feel free to comment, correct or add!

Alright: Starting with IBcrazy's post here , a popular home made antenna is the quarter wavelength bipole. It's basically a T shape antenna where the vertical part of the T represents the coax input, and the horizontal top part of the T represents the radiating part and the ground part, split exactly in the middle. Ground part means connected to the outer shielding of the coax cable and radiating part means connected to the centre (core) of the coax cable. The coax input means the unmodified coax cable, so with shielding intact.

To compute the quarter wavelength of the frequency you use, IBcrazy presents the following formula:

7125 / frequency in Mhz = length in cm.