Old May 06, 2015, 04:00 AM
Find More Posts by lFritZl
Heads up, Eyes open....
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined Feb 2013
15 Posts
Question
Thermal capable or not?

first of all, I am of mostly a helicopter background, so I'm a relative noob as far as gliding and gliders go.

So, my question is: will this creation (abomination) of mine be able to fly thermals (and if so how well) or am i wasting my time even flying with the motor off?

The wing was originally from the "ikarus dlg" that "thistle2311" designed. The ikarus worked for a while until failing catastrophically on launch (my throws were terrible). But i repaired and saved the wing. I now recently built a powered fuselage for it.

The span is 1.2m (47 in.); auw is 460g (16oz); wing area is 15.66 sq.dm (258.5 sq.in); wing loading is 29 g/sq.dm (8.913 oz/sq.ft) and according to thistle2311's thread the wing uses AG airfoils. The power system is off an old foamie and allows it to climb straight up at 1/3 throttle. And it flies on rudder/elevator/throttle. The CoG has been set using dive tests so that it stays pretty much neutral through the dive.

I have been flying and enjoying it a lot, and as far as i can tell it glides alright. But its always coming down. I have gotten better, my over-controlling heli tendencies have somewhat given way to trimming it and just letting it fly lazy curves across the sky.

I do realize (from reading a ton on gliding/soaring/thermal flying ect.) that it does take practice and time, but am i dealing with a duck here? Or is it worth it to stick with it?

Any input/advice is always appreciated.

Fritz
lFritZl is offline Find More Posts by lFritZl
to remove ads between posts
Old May 06, 2015, 06:08 AM
Find More Posts by Petem
If it flies - I want one!
Werribee, Victoria, Australia
Joined Jul 2008
1,167 Posts
Looks good

Fritz,
The basic layout looks fine; the wing loading is a tad high for a small soarer, but that will not stop it going up once you contact a thermal.