HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 27, 2012, 11:14 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Looks very nice.
What is the coil-formed copper in top-right? It looks a bit like an aircoil as part of the input-filter.

I finished a telemetry test that was able to send a string of data - and another sketch able to receive the data. But while testing I realized how bad the audio is on Lawmate and never really got any further. I have the sketch if you want to use it for anything.
The Aircoil is just a heat sink for the voltage regulator.

Please, may I have a copy of your work? I would like to experiment.

Thank you.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 27, 2012, 11:21 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,037 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
The Aircoil is just a heat sink for the voltage regulator.

Please, may I have a copy of your work? I would like to experiment.

Thank you.
Oh heatsink - great
An aircoil would be pretty useless for that purpose.

I think this was the last sketch I played around with. At the moment I think it sends something like "ABCDEFG...", and the receiver prints the string when all characters have been received.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3947315/audio_modem.rar
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2012, 11:24 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
Thank you Dennis, I really appreciate your help.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2012, 11:34 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
I have become very happy with the practice of using copper wire as a heat sink considering I have lots leftover from a home improvement project.



I picked up 100 5 volts regulators on ebay for I believe it was 10 bucks, I only needed a couple at the time. I would like the newer switching regulators but I am a strong believer in using what one has on-hand.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2012, 03:28 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
Conducted the very first test using an old Directv Dish Antenna adapted for 1.2Ghz FPV. Test looks very Promising. The TX(copter) was located in the front part of the house and the RX located in my workshop with a few concrete walls in between.

Dish for FPV usage Test 01 (0 min 58 sec)
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2012, 03:46 PM
Went to mow a meadow
frank48's Avatar
Joined Feb 2007
1,456 Posts
gps module

Anyone looking for a gps module I can recommend this one -

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Micro-GPS-...item27c5216357

Super fast shipping, good price and the seller also does one with a breakout board

/Frank
frank48 is online now Find More Posts by frank48
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2012, 07:42 PM
Chilled and served
Henry.'s Avatar
Sweden
Joined Mar 2005
287 Posts
That was the very one i bought some month ago and is the very same the software was built around so its pretty much guaranteed to work so i would recommend it as well.
Henry. is offline Find More Posts by Henry.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2012, 12:55 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,037 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
Conducted the very first test using an old Directv Dish Antenna adapted for 1.2Ghz FPV. Test looks very Promising. The TX(copter) was located in the front part of the house and the RX located in my workshop with a few concrete walls in between.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBaWsjBz5IA
Looks interesting. Have you tested how narrow the beam-width is? But if you are just looking for a couple of hundred meters range, it shouldn't be necessary with directional antennas at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
I have become very happy with the practice of using copper wire as a heat sink considering I have lots leftover from a home improvement project.

I picked up 100 5 volts regulators on ebay for I believe it was 10 bucks, I only needed a couple at the time. I would like the newer switching regulators but I am a strong believer in using what one has on-hand.
100 regulators? Should be enough for at least a couple of weeks

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank48 View Post
Anyone looking for a gps module I can recommend this one -

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Micro-GPS-...item27c5216357

Super fast shipping, good price and the seller also does one with a breakout board

/Frank
Looks pretty much like the same module from flytron - if so, I have been very satisfied with the performance.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2012, 01:00 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Looks interesting. Have you tested how narrow the beam-width is? But if you are just looking for a couple of hundred meters range, it shouldn't be necessary with directional antennas at all
I had three of these dish antennas and trashed the single LNB unit, now I wish I had kept that one. With the Oval ones, I just learned this morning, they do not receive the signal straight on as we perceive but from the side about 20 degree. I am processing the video now and the quality is Fantastic.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2012, 06:55 AM
Registered User
Sverige
Joined May 2009
74 Posts
I've been away from FPV for a while, but now I have taken it up again and I'm amazed to see how this project has progressed, very nice work Dennis!

That said, I'm having some trouble getting the EM-411 GPS to work with the latest code release (0.18). The OSD gets stuck at the initial screen searching for satellites even though the GPS seems to have a lock (led blinking). OSD shows zero satellites found all the time. I'm going to have a closer look at the code tonight, but I thought I ask anyway if you have any good hints of were to start looking.

Here is dump of the first few NMEA-strings the EM-411 sends after power-up if it helps:
Quote:
$PSRFTXT,Version:GSW3.5.0_3.5.00.00-SDK-3EP2.01 *46
$PSRFTXT,Version2:F-GPS-03-1005051*2D
$PSRFTXT,WAAS Disable*13
$PSRFTXT,TOW: 383162*18
$PSRFTXT,WK: 1681*6B
$PSRFTXT,POS: 3114791 892802 5475428*19
$PSRFTXT,CLK: 95295*2F
$PSRFTXT,CHNL: 12*73
$PSRFTXT,Baud rate: 4800*65
$GPGGA,103203.533,5933.1519,N,01559.6400,E,1,05,5. 5,85.7,M,28.2,M,,0000*67
$GPGSA,A,3,02,13,10,30,23,,,,,,,,8.7,5.5,6.7*3F
$GPRMC,103203.533,A,5933.1519,N,01559.6400,E,0.00, ,290312,,,A*77
$GPGGA,103203.825,5933.1568,N,01559.6783,E,1,05,5. 5,49.5,M,28.2,M,,0000*61
$GPGSA,A,3,02,13,23,30,10,,,,,,,,8.7,5.5,6.7*3F
$GPRMC,103203.825,A,5933.1568,N,01559.6783,E,0.38, 260.77,290312,,,A*62
$GPGGA,103204.000,5933.1408,N,01559.6718,E,1,06,1. 2,15.7,M,28.2,M,,0000*67
$GPGSA,A,3,02,13,23,30,10,07,,,,,,,2.1,1.2,1.8*3F
$GPRMC,103204.000,A,5933.1408,N,01559.6718,E,0.25, 241.86,290312,,,A*6E
$GPGGA,103205.000,5933.1452,N,01559.6592,E,1,06,1. 2,29.3,M,28.2,M,,0000*62
$GPGSA,A,3,02,13,23,30,10,07,,,,,,,2.1,1.2,1.8*3F
$GPRMC,103205.000,A,5933.1452,N,01559.6592,E,0.06, 72.28,290312,,,A*57
$GPGGA,103206.000,5933.1451,N,01559.6520,E,1,06,1. 2,36.0,M,28.2,M,,0000*66
$GPGSA,A,3,02,13,23,30,10,07,,,,,,,2.1,1.2,1.8*3F
$GPGSV,3,1,12,13,72,216,37,23,68,092,37,10,50,280, 39,04,47,250,29*71
I would appreciate your input on this.

/Andreas
andreas77 is offline Find More Posts by andreas77
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2012, 09:11 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2008
13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
The number above mah indicates the planes position (in degrees) in relation to your own position. In my case I think 0 degrees = north, 90 = east, 180 = south etc. I use it to stay within my antenna beam and keep the direction/angle when flying above the clouds.
Hello,

I guess this number is also the direction, to which a directional antenna should be steered to get the best signal. I wonder, if it would be possible to send this number and maybe also the angel according to the hight difference of model and pilot over the dark lines that are used for teletext? Shouldn't this just be equal to the creation of the signal for showing the text? If so, one could very simple decode the information on the ground and use it for tracking. This might be much smarter than an additional audio modem.

Cheers Nils
nils1982ks is online now Find More Posts by nils1982ks
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2012, 04:16 PM
Registered User
Sverige
Joined May 2009
74 Posts
Hey, now it works!

This is what I did:
- Set baudrate to 9600 and tested with my flytron GPS which worked fine (as expected).
- Switched back to 4800 baud and connected the EM-411 GPS and now it works!

I know it doesn't make any sense but somehow that seems to have fixed it.
andreas77 is offline Find More Posts by andreas77
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 07:45 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,037 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas77 View Post
Hey, now it works!

This is what I did:
- Set baudrate to 9600 and tested with my flytron GPS which worked fine (as expected).
- Switched back to 4800 baud and connected the EM-411 GPS and now it works!

I know it doesn't make any sense but somehow that seems to have fixed it.
Great you made it work. That "fix" shouldn't make any difference, but who cares as long as you made it work
And by the way, great to see the GPS-output, makes it a lot easier to see what's going on


Quote:
Originally Posted by nils1982ks View Post
Hello,

I guess this number is also the direction, to which a directional antenna should be steered to get the best signal. I wonder, if it would be possible to send this number and maybe also the angel according to the hight difference of model and pilot over the dark lines that are used for teletext? Shouldn't this just be equal to the creation of the signal for showing the text? If so, one could very simple decode the information on the ground and use it for tracking. This might be much smarter than an additional audio modem.

Cheers Nils
As far as I know, it should be more stable to use the audio for downlink (than teletext). Teletext could be an option, but it's a bit more difficult to read on the ground, and I would like to keep it simple.

I started to write the code for downlink, but never implemented it, as I got annoyed with the audio-performance by my Lawmate video-tx. A working test-sketch for audio-telemetry can be found a couple of posts ago. You should more or less be able to use it directly, but I would recommend some check-sum etc.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 10:59 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2008
13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
As far as I know, it should be more stable to use the audio for downlink (than teletext). Teletext could be an option, but it's a bit more difficult to read on the ground, and I would like to keep it simple.
I use an LM1881 and a microcontroller in a diversity setup, so not to much new stuff would be necessary.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
I started to write the code for downlink, but never implemented it, as I got annoyed with the audio-performance by my Lawmate video-tx. A working test-sketch for audio-telemetry can be found a couple of posts ago. You should more or less be able to use it directly, but I would recommend some check-sum etc.
I saw it and it looks very promising. With the audio-performance of my video-tx I was also not very happy, that's why I asked for teletext. Do you think there would be some timing/resource left in the existing code to implement the audio modem or should one use an independent controller? I think it would be enough to transmit the two necessary angles plus a checksum only.
nils1982ks is online now Find More Posts by nils1982ks
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 08:57 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,037 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nils1982ks View Post
I use an LM1881 and a microcontroller in a diversity setup, so not to much new stuff would be necessary.

I saw it and it looks very promising. With the audio-performance of my video-tx I was also not very happy, that's why I asked for teletext. Do you think there would be some timing/resource left in the existing code to implement the audio modem or should one use an independent controller? I think it would be enough to transmit the two necessary angles plus a checksum only.
The code for the audio-modem shouldn't take up much cpu-time. The general idea and code for bit-sending have been made by Melih from Flytron, but it have been more or less rewritten to allow serial-receiving (or other tasks) while sending telemetry. As I never implemented it I can't say anything for sure, but my guess is that no extra controller is needed.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Diy osd karl k FPV Talk 2 May 03, 2011 01:31 AM
Idea New DIY OSD? atari7202 FPV Talk 1 Mar 25, 2011 01:08 AM
Discussion see my own diy OSD video Passion Aerial Photography 7 May 27, 2010 02:28 AM
Discussion REAL homebrew DIY OSD - Check it out! jafoca FPV Talk 8 Jun 29, 2009 07:52 PM
Discussion picoOSD DIY PIC12F683 based OSD in C kbosak FPV Talk 6 Jan 31, 2008 08:47 AM