HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:55 PM
Pasco Tri Cities, Washington, United States
Joined Aug 2004
317 Posts
Discussion
Pull-pull setup

I'm currently setting up the rudder control system in my Aura 110 pattern airplane. I've seen some folks use a wheel on the rudder servo for a pull-pull system. Using a wheel means the radius of the pull at the servo end is constant. However at the rudder end of the cables, the radius of the pull changes (reduces) as rudder deflection increases---unless a wheel of the same diameter isn't used at the rudder end--which I have never seen. Can anyone tell me why people would use a wheel on the servo instead of an arm the same width as the one at the rudder? I'm a mechanical engineer, so think I understand kinematics rather well. I'd like to install a system that will keep the cables taught throughout the movement of the servo and the rudder to keep the chance of flutter at a minimum.
LRFitch is offline Find More Posts by LRFitch
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:39 PM
"...certainty is absurd."
Joined Jan 2007
3,598 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRFitch View Post
I'm currently setting up the rudder control system in my Aura 110 pattern airplane. I've seen some folks use a wheel on the rudder servo for a pull-pull system. Using a wheel means the radius of the pull at the servo end is constant. However at the rudder end of the cables, the radius of the pull changes (reduces) as rudder deflection increases---unless a wheel of the same diameter isn't used at the rudder end--which I have never seen. Can anyone tell me why people would use a wheel on the servo instead of an arm the same width as the one at the rudder? I'm a mechanical engineer, so think I understand kinematics rather well. I'd like to install a system that will keep the cables taught throughout the movement of the servo and the rudder to keep the chance of flutter at a minimum.