HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 07, 2012, 01:33 PM
Don't disturb the pilot !!!
saucisse's Avatar
Canada, QC, Quebec
Joined Jun 2008
2,187 Posts
Not sure, the only tester's videos I saw so far were using quadcopters. Maybe some did test with an hexa but didn't see it.

I bet we're going to like this GPS on our big hexa's sim_io

Quote:
Originally Posted by sim_io View Post
I had weird yaw problems with my stock naza specially if there was a crosswind it would not hold straight. Does this compass fix that problem?
saucisse is offline Find More Posts by saucisse
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 07, 2012, 01:36 PM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sim_io View Post
I had weird yaw problems with my stock naza specially if there was a crosswind it would not hold straight. Does this compass fix that problem?
Yaw problem often comes from the Naza not level or a trim issue. It would be impossible to figure out with more info. Ask in the Naza thread (non-GPS).

To keep it on topic, the GPS will make your Naza hold in position regardless of wind and the Compass tells Naza which direction it is facing which is required for Intelligent Orientation Control.
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 01:47 PM
Quadcopter Addict
Joined Nov 2011
322 Posts
Just got confirmation that mine is on it's way!
oddcopter is offline Find More Posts by oddcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 01:56 PM
Why is the Rum gone?
sim_io's Avatar
USA, GA, Savannah
Joined Mar 2008
1,668 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saucisse View Post
I bet we're going to like this GPS on our big hexa's sim_io
Hi saucisse nice to see you here

We are
sim_io is offline Find More Posts by sim_io
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 01:56 PM
Registered User
ripmax's Avatar
uk. northampton
Joined May 2009
999 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
I would say the best way would be to just leave manual out since your not worried about it..(I know one person that wont like this suggestion)

If I was you,I would think about getting a radio that has an rx that supports a smart fail-safe though.. Just not worth the risk imho.
Thanks blade strike.

Hmmmfff!! lol, I've only had this radio 6 months! its gonna have to do for a while, my last skysport 6 lasted 10 years! I thought the dx6i and 6200 rx has smart failsafe? I really just want the gps for position hold, don't really like the idear of my quad flying round the park on its own with rth function, or self landing, I prefer that if signal is lost power to motors is switched off too, would rather have a smashed quad than it flying into someone with rotors running.
ripmax is offline Find More Posts by ripmax
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 02:02 PM
Registered User
ripmax's Avatar
uk. northampton
Joined May 2009
999 Posts
Am I right in saying that I could set any mode on the pc and fly, then change the mode with pc, just means I cannot change flight modes with the tx during flight, would have to do it manually through the computer everytime.
ripmax is offline Find More Posts by ripmax
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 05:14 PM
Registered User
United States, NJ, Trenton
Joined Sep 2006
291 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDSURFnGLIDE View Post
I too use the dx6i....i was wondering how this could be done. I currently have a failsafe switch programmed ...so if i donthave anything on mix 2, i could conceivably mix another switch for GPS-ATTI while still having the option to switch to manual... hmmm...ill have play around with that.

I really just need to cough up the cash and get a Tx that has more channels.
I set my DX6i to toggle between GPS and Manual with the GEAR switch. I set my ELEV D/R switch to toggle between GPS and ATI mode.

1. Setup your NAZA to toggle between GPS and Manual mode with the GEAR switch.

Travel ADJ [Menu]
Flip the GEAR switch to 0
GEAR [up arrow] 86%

Flip the GEAR switch to 1
GEAR [down arrow] 75%


2. MIX1 [Menu]
Gear -> GEAR ACT
RATE D - 93% U 0%
SW ELE D/R TRIM ACT

3. Verify both switchs work in the NAZA Tx Cali menu.

Note: When both switches are in the 1 postion, it will be in Manual mode.
joop1987 is offline Find More Posts by joop1987
Last edited by joop1987; Jun 07, 2012 at 05:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 05:25 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2006
292 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulinfrance View Post
Looks good but till i can stop my Naza from wobbling i won't order.
maybe your gains are too high..
mandis is offline Find More Posts by mandis
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 05:31 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
10,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gww528 View Post
Just to clarify so as not to confuse a noob... Spektrum RX can have Smart fail- safe & not have pre-set smart fail-safe.
100% correct!


Quote:
Originally Posted by ripmax View Post
Thanks blade strike.

Hmmmfff!! lol, I've only had this radio 6 months! its gonna have to do for a while, my last skysport 6 lasted 10 years! I thought the dx6i and 6200 rx has smart failsafe? I really just want the gps for position hold, don't really like the idear of my quad flying round the park on its own with rth function, or self landing, I prefer that if signal is lost power to motors is switched off too, would rather have a smashed quad than it flying into someone with rotors running.
I haven't used a 6200 but I thought they didn't support smart fail safe... just a throttle failsafe.
blade strike is online now Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: GenAce Tattu 25c 22,000mah 6s1p
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 06:13 PM
Registered User
Slovak Republic
Joined May 2004
105 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by icah View Post
THX, I was hoping that it is able to hold the position automatically, when I release all the sticks. Do you mean that in GPS-ATTI mode it will do PH only if it is in altitude hold mode? What if I am descending or raising, will not it do PH?
RTFM - you will have to assign the 3-way transmitter switch instead of 2-way sw for controlling the NAZA mode - it was 2-way switch for MANUAL & ATTI and it will be MANUAL + ATTI + GPS (PH) ATTI.

So I translated it that GPS-ATTI mode is for holding both altitude+attitude (leveling the craft by the reseasing the 'cyclic' control stick) and the position hold.
elektromodely is offline Find More Posts by elektromodely
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 06:16 PM
Registered User
Slovak Republic
Joined May 2004
105 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
100% correct!
I haven't used a 6200 but I thought they didn't support smart fail safe... just a throttle failsafe.
smart FS = throttle FS (throttle down and all other channels hold the previous position). You need the preset FS (all channes will go to the preset positions).

It is implemented in AR7000+, RD721, RD921,,,
elektromodely is offline Find More Posts by elektromodely
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 06:46 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
10,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elektromodely View Post
smart FS = throttle FS (throttle down and all other channels hold the previous position). You need the preset FS (all channes will go to the preset positions).

It is implemented in AR7000+, RD721, RD921,,,
I think by my post he got my drift.. that's why I stated he need to make sure his rx supported the correct fail safe..
blade strike is online now Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: GenAce Tattu 25c 22,000mah 6s1p
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 07:10 PM
Registered User
bcollydas's Avatar
Canada, QC, Laval
Joined Apr 2008
1,211 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saucisse View Post
T'as pas cherché fort sur ce coup là mec

http://www.dji-innovations.com/produ...otor/features/

La réponse est oui Check l'image plus bas ou sur le site
Thank you saucisse, I don't have the Naza yet is coming along with the GPS.
bcollydas is offline Find More Posts by bcollydas
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 07:15 PM
Registered User
bcollydas's Avatar
Canada, QC, Laval
Joined Apr 2008
1,211 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elektromodely View Post
smart FS = throttle FS (throttle down and all other channels hold the previous position). You need the preset FS (all channes will go to the preset positions).

It is implemented in AR7000+, RD721, RD921,,,
Hitec Aurora 9 also.
bcollydas is offline Find More Posts by bcollydas
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2012, 07:45 PM
What's a servo?
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Nov 2008
447 Posts
With the Naza and WKM GPS, what does

"toilet bowl effect" look like?

What is the behaviour look like / do to understand if your multirotor is doing that or not?
Sad Sack is offline Find More Posts by Sad Sack
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Talk 231 Aug 05, 2014 04:32 AM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 04:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 08:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Hoverfly Technologies 13 Jan 01, 2012 01:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Hoverfly Technologies 0 Oct 04, 2011 05:01 PM