HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 18, 2014, 10:45 AM
Registered User
nevenelestate's Avatar
United States, MD, St Mary's County
Joined Feb 2014
140 Posts
Discussion
Trouble with DX6 wireless trainer bind to HZ RTF radio

I have a DX6, new DSMX version, and recently bought a Champ RTF. I would like to bind the RTF radio as slave so that I can let my nieces try out flying over the holiday break. I went through the manual steps for setting up wireless trainer, binded DX6 to acft, then went to the Trainer menu and when I try to bind the DX6 will not show a bind, it just has "bind" no the screen. I attempted several bind initiations from the RTF radio, also a full shutdown of both radios and restarted the whole process, no luck.

Has anyone else had this issue? Or better yet, anyone know what the issue is?

Thanks in advance for any help.
nevenelestate is offline Find More Posts by nevenelestate
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 18, 2014, 10:49 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,251 Posts
Do you have 6 feet between the transmitters when binding?

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2014, 10:57 AM
Registered User
nevenelestate's Avatar
United States, MD, St Mary's County
Joined Feb 2014
140 Posts
I did try some attempts from about that distance.

I tried variable distances from right next to each other, to around 6+ feet.
I also tried different antenna polarities.
nevenelestate is offline Find More Posts by nevenelestate
Last edited by nevenelestate; Dec 18, 2014 at 11:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2014, 11:17 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,251 Posts
Can you still bind the little tx to the model?

Do you have a different transmitter you can try binding to the DX6?

(trying to identify which tx is the problem).

I haven't heard of DX6 not accepting a bind as the master. A few times we've had people having difficulty with it conceptually, but from what you said you seem to have that covered.

Let me just go over in case there was a step missed.

1) Bind DX6 to aircraft. Make sure you can control it. Power off the model.

2) Go to Trainer menu. Select Wireless Trainer in Pilot Link mode.

3) Select BIND. Click. Screen should show the binding message.

4) Power up small tx in bind mode. (press left stick straight into tx as you power tx up. LED blinks and tx beeps)

5) DX6 should say how the bind completed.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2014, 11:31 AM
Registered User
nevenelestate's Avatar
United States, MD, St Mary's County
Joined Feb 2014
140 Posts
I do not have another radio, but my friend does, I will try slaving in his DX8 when I see him next.

I did not try re-binding the RTF xmitter to the Champ, I will do that also.

Those are the steps I did.

thank you for the quick replies!
nevenelestate is offline Find More Posts by nevenelestate
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2014, 12:32 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,251 Posts
OK. Please let me know how it goes.

I used to work in Dahlgren and lived in Colonial Beach, just across the Potomac from you.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2014, 01:04 PM
Registered User
nevenelestate's Avatar
United States, MD, St Mary's County
Joined Feb 2014
140 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
OK. Please let me know how it goes.

I used to work in Dahlgren and lived in Colonial Beach, just across the Potomac from you.

Andy
Last place I rented I could see the coal power plant from my porch. beautiful area.
nevenelestate is offline Find More Posts by nevenelestate
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2014, 02:30 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,251 Posts
Man I hate that bridge! That's one thing I definitely don't mind about leaving the area!

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:30 PM
Registered User
nevenelestate's Avatar
United States, MD, St Mary's County
Joined Feb 2014
140 Posts
Today my buddy brought his DX7 radio and it also would not bind. He then mentioned AirWare. I proceeded to register my radio with spektrumrc.com and downloaded the lastest AirWare. After installing that I was able to get the RTF radio to bind!

Register your radios and update AirWare is my take away
nevenelestate is offline Find More Posts by nevenelestate
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion trouble initializing 200qx motors with dx6 scole Mini Multirotors 4 Oct 04, 2014 06:55 AM
Discussion DX5 to DX9 wireless trainer binding problem bbells Radios 3 Feb 23, 2014 07:28 PM
Sold Futaba Sky Sport trainer radio/with trainer cord. scottc39 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Nov 02, 2013 08:26 AM
For Sale .46 trainer RTF with extra trainer and radio all for 150.00 local pick up greatplanes Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 5 Oct 19, 2011 12:18 PM
For Sale F27 Stryker with lipos and DX6 radio RTF steelydan Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Nov 03, 2007 08:09 AM