HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 07, 2010, 08:29 AM
Japan, Tokyo, Chiyoda
Joined Oct 2010
239 Posts
Discussion
Advanced Aerial Still Photography : challenges and solutions (not video)

Dear all,

Let me explain a bit what I would like to discuss here. I hope people you can share experience and tests will join !

I am a photographer comming to RC multicopters to get a flying tripod. I have a lot to learn and have been reading here and preparing a lot, and still have a long way to go. But I noticed that many people here focused on video a lot (with fantastic results), and that most still pictures are made from high up.

Based on my photographic experience, taking stills from quite high up seems pretty straitforward :
- focus is not really an issue (deep of field becomes very big is your subject is far from you),
- composition is easier (your speed realtive to your huge subject is small)
- good/heavy/expensive/bright lens is not needed (since you will close it around f5.6+ anyway)
- vibration is less of an issue (since using wide angle)
So most people seem to use compact cameras with very good results.

But what I would like to do with a flying tripod seems a bit more challenging : to fligh at relatively low attitudes (2m to 20m+) and take picture that will allow to pop up details with controled composition and sharp focus with low DOF. That means :
- lifting good and expensive lens is the 500g range (like a 50mm f1.4), and use then very open (around f2.0 for example)
- lifting a larger sensor for better image quality (APS-C type at least, maybe FF like 5D2)
- being able to control quite precisely the composition in real time, idealy using live view (=what the sensor sees)
- being able to control the camera settings during flight (ISO, aperture ...) and in particular to ajust focus on different points of the image (not only the center) with enough accuracy to get perfect sharpness
- decrease shutter speed as much as possible to keep the ISO down