HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 01, 2013, 02:13 PM
Joined Apr 2012
2,829 Posts
Discussion
Last Year's best flights.

Happy New Year, everyone!

As some of you know, I have been moderating the "Big Sky Soaring Contest" for a few months and it gave me an idea. What was your best flight of the year? It doesn't have to be long duration or satisfy any particular criteria.

In my case, my favorite flight was not my longest. The most fun that I had was playing with some dynamic soaring. On that day the wind was blowing straight down a valley and hitting a line of trees on the rim. So, by flying a tight oval over said trees, I was able to fly until it got too dark to see the plane and pretty much hit the terminal velocity of my foam ASW 28.
peterlngh is offline Find More Posts by peterlngh
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 01, 2013, 03:00 PM
Belgium, Flemish Region, Oosterzele
Joined Dec 2001
5,498 Posts
An F5B competition flight In the Netherlands , I was down in about one minute from my initial climb to 150m, so , thinking that where there is so much sink, there must be a thermal somewhere, climbed to 120m, went all the way to the other side of the field and found a thermal @ about 80m that got me the required 10 minutes. Actually I abandoned it a bit early and had to go back for it......

well, I did come in a bit early for landing, so I used a short motor blip to go around and land at 10min 1 second...Oh, the red= power in watts (I flew this one on 2S...)...

I did need to concentrate... Thermal was behind the tent, here I was trying to avoid having my plane dropping out of the sky...
WimH is online now Find More Posts by WimH
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by WimH; Jan 01, 2013 at 03:12 PM.
Old Jan 02, 2013, 03:25 PM
Chipping Norton, UK
Joined Jul 2006
393 Posts
Bubble Dancing