SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Jun 29, 2011, 04:17 PM
Registered User
Nobert's Avatar
Tucson Avra Valley, Arizona, United States
Joined Jul 2002
1,476 Posts
Peabody
Thanks for the info. The pcbs will be the same size as the CC???
Neal
Nobert is offline Find More Posts by Nobert
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 29, 2011, 04:24 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2010
177 Posts
I just noticed this thread, but I picked up a CC board a few weeks back. I'm loving the stable mode. It makes FPV an absolute breeze for a beginner like myself. I had to wait for a few upgrades to come in for my FPV set up, but I'll be back at it this week shooting some fresh video. Here is a little something I shot 2 weeks back.

http://vimeo.com/25327234
Kilby is offline Find More Posts by Kilby
Old Jun 29, 2011, 04:40 PM
Gimbaled
superdave42's Avatar
morgan hill california
Joined May 2004
3,299 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilby View Post
I just noticed this thread, but I picked up a CC board a few weeks back. I'm loving the stable mode. It makes FPV an absolute breeze for a beginner like myself. I had to wait for a few upgrades to come in for my FPV set up, but I'll be back at it this week shooting some fresh video. Here is a little something I shot 2 weeks back.

http://vimeo.com/25327234
Sweet video and Machine Kilby
superdave42 is offline Find More Posts by superdave42
Old Jun 29, 2011, 09:45 PM
Registered User
Nick Papagiorgio's Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Jun 2011
84 Posts
Man i cant wait to get one....
Nick Papagiorgio is offline Find More Posts by Nick Papagiorgio
Old Jun 30, 2011, 08:14 PM
Registered User
AlPackin's Avatar
United States, CT
Joined Mar 2011
1,041 Posts
I've been reading the OP WIKI and could someone explain what "Spektrum satellite receiver support" means.

Does that mean I can just plug my satellite receiver into the CC board rather than using the main receiver hardwired to the inputs?
Thanks
Ed
AlPackin is offline Find More Posts by AlPackin
Old Jun 30, 2011, 08:31 PM
www.joescnc.com
Joecnc2006's Avatar
United States, TX, Marion
Joined Jun 2007
722 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlPackin View Post
I've been reading the OP WIKI and could someone explain what "Spektrum satellite receiver support" means.

Does that mean I can just plug my satellite receiver into the CC board rather than using the main receiver hardwired to the inputs?
Thanks
Ed
you first bind the receiver like you normally do, then unplug the receiver, and plug the satellite directly into your CC board with out the receiver, you will need an adapter plug i believe. There is a section on the Openpilot forum which shows picture of it.

http://forums.openpilot.org/topic/50...__1#entry15267
Joecnc2006 is offline Find More Posts by Joecnc2006
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Joecnc2006; Jun 30, 2011 at 08:36 PM.
Old Jun 30, 2011, 08:34 PM
Registered User
AlPackin's Avatar
United States, CT
Joined Mar 2011
1,041 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joecnc2006 View Post
you first bind the receiver like you normally do, then unplug the receiver, and plug the satellite directly into your CC board with out the receiver, you will need an adapter plug i believe. There is a section on the Openpilot forum which shows picture of it.
That is too cool, I just received my CC board in the mail today. I just happen to need a frame too


edit: I found the adapter cable but I don't think its available to buy yet
http://www.openpilot.org/product/ope...-serial-cable/

would be kinda long too, I hope they have an adapter plug
AlPackin is offline Find More Posts by AlPackin
Last edited by AlPackin; Jun 30, 2011 at 08:46 PM.
Old Jun 30, 2011, 09:06 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
18,600 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlPackin View Post
That is too cool, I just received my CC board in the mail today. I just happen to need a frame too


edit: I found the adapter cable but I don't think its available to buy yet
http://www.openpilot.org/product/ope...-serial-cable/

would be kinda long too, I hope they have an adapter plug
You don't necessarily need an adapter. You can 'solder' your satellite receiver to the CC board. The big thing is the CC board is 5v on the srial plug. Evidently the satellite Rx's use 3.3v, hence the soldering to the CC board. Someone was nice enough to post a picture of it soldered to the board...I'll have to see if I can find it for you...just another option...

Okay, found this: http://wiki.openpilot.org/download/a...cccopter03.jpg Not the best picture, but you could probably map out the connections via the picture.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Vantasstic; Jun 30, 2011 at 09:13 PM.
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:25 PM
www.joescnc.com
Joecnc2006's Avatar
United States, TX, Marion
Joined Jun 2007
722 Posts
The OpenPilot TV Episode 2 - PID Tuning, was just posted, this is very informative for people who want to dial in their MultiCopters.

http://www.openpilot.org/pid-tuning/


OpenPilot TV Episode 2: PID Tuning (36 min 51 sec)
Joecnc2006 is offline Find More Posts by Joecnc2006
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:49 PM
OpenPilot
dankers's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Apr 2004
1,792 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
You don't necessarily need an adapter. You can 'solder' your satellite receiver to the CC board. The big thing is the CC board is 5v on the srial plug. Evidently the satellite Rx's use 3.3v, hence the soldering to the CC board. Someone was nice enough to post a picture of it soldered to the board...I'll have to see if I can find it for you...just another option...

Okay, found this: http://wiki.openpilot.org/download/a...cccopter03.jpg Not the best picture, but you could probably map out the connections via the picture.
Its dead easy to solder it, use power for the SBL jumper, this is 3.3V regulated.

Some more news, all new CCs in future will come with the serial cable now.

Adapter for Spektrum is being made as well for the people that want plug and play.
dankers is offline Find More Posts by dankers
Old Jul 01, 2011, 12:38 AM
Pants first, then shoes
Joined Jan 2011
2,764 Posts
Really helpful episode. Excellent stuff Thanks.
Stacky is offline Find More Posts by Stacky
Old Jul 01, 2011, 05:52 AM
Registered User
Ironbridge (UK)
Joined Jan 2009
3,966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joecnc2006 View Post
The OpenPilot TV Episode 2 - PID Tuning, was just posted, this is very informative for people who want to dial in their MultiCopters.

http://www.openpilot.org/pid-tuning/


http://vimeo.com/25839978
nice footwork on the vid I take it that is a new version of the software I dont yet have?


ps thanks for the cable Dankers
Joshbb is offline Find More Posts by Joshbb
Old Jul 01, 2011, 06:17 AM
Gaftopher
Gary Mortimer's Avatar
Nottingham Road South Africa/Bedford UK
Joined Feb 2007
3,961 Posts
Axis lock is likely to be in the next GCS build along with a couple of helicopter things. No timescale hopefully within two weeks.

Remember if you update the GCS, you will need to update your Firmware.

Before you do that save your current settings so you can import them into the new GCS version.

Keep watching the downloads page

http://wiki.openpilot.org/display/BU...ware+Downloads

All the other tuning advice still stands for current versions of course.

If you really can't wait you can always build your own GCS all the instructions are on the wiki.
Gary Mortimer is offline Find More Posts by Gary Mortimer
Old Jul 01, 2011, 07:46 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Weston-super-Mare
Joined Jul 2010
478 Posts
Just to emphasise something Gary said above -

The GCS Software and the CC board's Firmware are ALWAYS a matched pair. If you upgrade/downgrade/change one you MUST change the other to the corresponding version.

Currently there is no "version number", you go by the date of the build. Version numbering will be used when the product goes to full release.
jes1111 is offline Find More Posts by jes1111
Old Jul 01, 2011, 07:52 AM
a.d.m.i.n
reptor's Avatar
Joined Jan 2011
498 Posts
WHy in OpenGCS there is no button "update". Will you add this option for automatic update, or I just didn't seee this option.

thanks
reptor is offline Find More Posts by reptor
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion The Aussie RCG Coffee thread (aka "we don't drink instant") glydr Australia 164 Sep 08, 2012 04:33 AM
Discussion NEW? -Openpilot flight controller tc3wins Multirotor Talk 229 Mar 02, 2012 06:14 PM
Discussion Share your art! PinkYakRC Painting and Finishing Tips 13 Apr 27, 2011 08:04 PM
Discussion RCG 07 JR Indoor Live Coverage Thread Jim T. Graham JR Indoor Electric Festival 19 Nov 04, 2007 02:36 PM
Discussion My first RCG flame thread WBE Chit Chat 6 Sep 04, 2007 10:17 PM