HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 04, 2011, 01:44 AM
Just registered
Mexico, COAH, Torreón
Joined Mar 2011
81 Posts
Help!
*Slightly* puffy battery

Hi! Just tried my new EC-135 my friend gave me today. It comes with a cheapy-looking charger--no display, no kind of feedback at all except a green/red LED.

The manual said to charge 'till the green light came on, or no more than 90 minutes. I charged it at 0.3A for the first twenty minutes; the batteries never got even slightly warm (I've never done this before, but I had the idea they were supposed to) so I turned it up to about 0.4A. At 90 minutes the LED was still red, and the pack was still cold, so I turned it up to about 0.7A for ten minutes, and the green LED still wouldn't come on. At that point I just disconnected it and tried flying the heli.

The heli wouldn't come on (remember, this is my first) and after several on/offs, and testing the batteries with a multimeter (very carefully--no shorts), we realised the little short-circuit plug (used to bind? whatever that is) had no current going through it, so we fixed that. Then we flew the heli for about 4 or 5 minutes, at which point the battery gave out (the manual said it should last 8, but these are used batteries. I don't know.).

When we took the battery out, it WAS warm (not hot), and slightly--but uniformly--puffy, as if there were liquid out of the cells. It cooled down right away, but remains slightly puffy--more than the other (unused) battery, and I think more than it was before we used it. Since I've never done this before I don't know if it's normal for it to be puffy that way. Is it?

Is it safe for me to put it away and go to sleep?

Thanks!
NathanC is offline Find More Posts by NathanC
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 04, 2011, 03:20 AM
Australia
Joined Nov 2010
2,876 Posts
might be time to get a charger where you can see whats going on. might also be worth getting a few batteries whilst you are there.