HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 19, 2012, 05:56 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
The current sensors output is between 0.5 volts and 4 volts and each amp is 40mV. The RSSI input is not divided as therfor the resolution is 5/1024 = 4.8 mV = 0.12 A. But Voltage 2 is divided from 0-30 Volt to 0-5 volt, therfor the resolution is 30/1024 = 29 mV = 0.725 A. Not extreamly bad but I rather have 0.12 A resolution.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 19, 2012, 08:18 PM
Opt
Registered User
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Oct 2010
394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by callelj View Post
Opt: Thanks!
You can see all the changes I have made here: http://code.google.com/p/cl-osd/source/list
Thanks but i can't see any reference to the 2hz update rate? I will flash the new firmware and see what happens
Opt is offline Find More Posts by Opt
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2012, 10:42 PM
Registered User
United States, TX
Joined Oct 2010
331 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3dm View Post
can you explain why please?
OMG, this guy doesnt give up

Im adding some more beer money to the kitty, I think callelj needs a drink
Slaphappysamy is offline Find More Posts by Slaphappysamy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 01:45 AM
Registered User
BigJimNZ's Avatar
Auckland New Zealand
Joined Sep 2010
1,294 Posts
Well I plugged it into my AVRISPII and progg'd it from AVR Studion 4.

And it bl..dy worked
Did it all by hours of reading as I'm not much of programmer !!

Thanks for your work callelj I just bought you some beer

How many questions do I get for that he ehehehhee

Ian Hurlock
BigJimNZ is offline Find More Posts by BigJimNZ
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 04:46 AM
RC pilot by soul
Israel
Joined Apr 2005
2,477 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaphappysamy View Post
OMG, this guy doesnt give up

Im adding some more beer money to the kitty, I think callelj needs a drink
Samy, i am trying to learn
i3dm is offline Find More Posts by i3dm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 06:33 PM
Registered User
yzguy's Avatar
Florida
Joined Mar 2007
877 Posts
I think I'm going to try this one:
http://search.digikey.com/us/en/prod...1-1-ND/2470595
only 25 amp, but it is a tad smaller and lighter, and will allow for the OSD to read the data with slightly more accuracy since it is 55mV per amp instead of 40mV per amp. I know I'll have to tweak the calcs in the code a bit since this changed. Maybe I'll see if I can make the calcs generic and add variables for things like min V and mV/A so any current sensor could easily be used by setting these numbers (if it is not already).
yzguy is offline Find More Posts by yzguy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: wing wing z-84 fpv setup
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2012, 06:02 AM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Slaphappysamy & BigJimNZ: Thanks! Just ask as many as you like. :-)

yzguy: I added a defines for this in config.h. Look for defines starting with SENSOR_CURRENT_. Just set max and min voltage and max amp. Might not work for negative amps I just realised... :-)
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 05:45 AM
Registered User
Slovakia, Bratislava Region, Bratislava
Joined Jan 2012
9 Posts
Hello

first of all I want to thank callelj to make this great project.
I have successfully tested cl-osd on my g-osd v.II with HK SONY CCD 1/3inch Camera
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...mera_PAL_.html

Then I tested it with RangeVideo KX-1 Micro color CMOS camera PAL
http://www.rangevideo.com/index.php?...910b72b0a22c1b
But got only distorted stripes on screen (ghosts lines ...)
I read whole thread and try to play with suggested parameters like GRAPICSENABLED, TEXT_LINE_MAX_CHARS, TEXT_LINES, TEXT_TRIG_LINES_LIST
but withoud the success. I've only got less stripes on the screen.

I've tested KX-1 on Eagle OSD Pro and everything works ok.

Sony camera work on 11V and is 582x500 420TV lines
KX-1 works on 5V and is 786x576 520TV lines

Has anybody idea where coud be a problem?

Thank you wery much.
PetoK is offline Find More Posts by PetoK
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 12:12 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
PetoK: Thanks!

Seems like you did you homework before posting. I don't have a answer for you question though. But my first thought was that since the Sony camera is 420TV it has longer sync pulses than the KX-1 with it's 520TV. I'm not sure about this since I only have two sony cameras so that's all I have tested.

The OSD uses a series of analog filters to filter out the sync signal. So it might be that the sync doesn't go low enough for the sync to work. Or it cannot sink enoght current to get the sync pulse to work each time.

But these are of course just guesses.

Could you upload a picture of a captured frame? Or a photo of how it looks?
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 04:50 PM
Registered User
Slovakia, Bratislava Region, Bratislava
Joined Jan 2012
9 Posts
Hi, it was a pleasure doing this homework :-) interesting and lot of fun :-)

It is hard to capture the stripes because they are moving/flickering litlebit, but here are tre try.

First picture is captured with white wall background to make stripes more visible.
Shame on me that I did not test KX-1 with original firmware, will be more clear if this is HW or SW problem.
PetoK is offline Find More Posts by PetoK
Last edited by PetoK; Jan 24, 2012 at 02:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2012, 03:32 PM
Plane and multirotor's - FPV
DrEvil's Avatar
Moss, Norway
Joined Jun 2007
854 Posts
Hi

Maby a NOOB question, but can i use the gps unit that comes with EagleTree system
with the E-osd ?

Kai
DrEvil is online now Find More Posts by DrEvil
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2012, 04:41 AM
Registered User
Slovakia, Bratislava Region, Bratislava
Joined Jan 2012
9 Posts
DrEvil: you can find pinout and some communication info about EagleTree GPS V4 here http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1257119
I was trying but did not find info how to setup module to 4800 bit rate.

You could try change CL-OSD config.h parameter
#define GPS_BAUD 4800 to 38400

I did not test this. Maybie in the future. But I did not promise :-)
PetoK is offline Find More Posts by PetoK
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2012, 04:58 AM
Registered User
Slovakia, Bratislava Region, Bratislava
Joined Jan 2012
9 Posts
callelj: I was going trough discussion once again and I think that somebody is using CL-OSD with some 520TVL so the CL-OSD is capable to handle 520TVL.
Problem could be that my KX-1 has weak signal or DC superposition.
PetoK is offline Find More Posts by PetoK
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2012, 05:23 AM
Plane and multirotor's - FPV
DrEvil's Avatar
Moss, Norway
Joined Jun 2007
854 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PetoK View Post
DrEvil: you can find pinout and some communication info about EagleTree GPS V4 here http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1257119
I was trying but did not find info how to setup module to 4800 bit rate.

You could try change CL-OSD config.h parameter
#define GPS_BAUD 4800 to 38400

I did not test this. Maybie in the future. But I did not promise :-)
Thanks PetoK

I'm totaly noob, so i dont know howe to change anything just yet
But no worries.....

Kai
DrEvil is online now Find More Posts by DrEvil
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 03:40 AM
Registered User
Slovakia, Bratislava Region, Bratislava
Joined Jan 2012
9 Posts
Hello callelj and everybody

finally I find the solution :-)
now I can prove that:
YES - CL-OSD can work with 520TVL camera
YES - CL-OSD can work with KX-1 camera )

callelj thank you for the quesses they bring me to the solution.
I've placed electrolytic 470uF capacitor between camera and G-OSD and YES :-) it works :-)

Please look at the wiring diagram:
PetoK is offline Find More Posts by PetoK
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM