SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Thread Tools
Old Feb 19, 2015, 07:02 PM
dmunce is offline
Find More Posts by dmunce
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
57 Posts
Discussion
Quanum Nova GPS problem *Please Help*

I'm probably starting to annoy people with all these new posts about my nova gps.. so I'm sorry!
I got my new gps/compass combo in today, and I got the Ublox Neo 6m. Okay, so I followed all wiring diagrams to a t and also double checked they were right. I go to power on the quad and connect to mission planner to check my work. I get perfect compass readings, but absolutely no gps readings. I also am not getting the green light on the back of the quad after the initial blinks. I have swapped the tx/rx wires a couple times to see if that makes a difference and it doesn't. I have a couple theories on what I think is wrong; The gps needs a firmware upgrade, the gps unit is bad, or the apm pins are fried from when I accidentally swapped the gnd and vcc wires on my old gps (which ended its life). I'm at that oh S*** point now and I could really use a hand
dmunce is offline Find More Posts by dmunce
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 19, 2015, 08:14 PM
davidmc36 is online now
Find More Posts by davidmc36
No bounce, No play.
davidmc36's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Oct 2010
4,147 Posts
Are the baud rates correct?
davidmc36 is online now Find More Posts by davidmc36
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2015, 08:20 PM
dmunce is offline
Find More Posts by dmunce
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
57 Posts
That I do not know being that I haven't ordered an FTDI cable yet (I am currently in the process of that )
dmunce is offline Find More Posts by dmunce
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2015, 08:28 PM
davidmc36 is online now
Find More Posts by davidmc36
No bounce, No play.
davidmc36's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Oct 2010
4,147 Posts
Once you have something to hook it up with you can check/adjust the baud-rate if necessary:

http://www.u-blox.com/en/evaluation-.../u-center.html
davidmc36 is online now Find More Posts by davidmc36
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2015, 08:34 PM
dmunce is offline
Find More Posts by dmunce
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
57 Posts
Does this unit generally need to be configured to the right baud rate to even show up on the apm?
dmunce is offline Find More Posts by dmunce
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2015, 08:54 PM
davidmc36 is online now
Find More Posts by davidmc36
No bounce, No play.
davidmc36's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Oct 2010
4,147 Posts
Baud rates do need to match or you will see no data or garbled data.
davidmc36 is online now Find More Posts by davidmc36
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2015, 08:56 PM
davidmc36 is online now
Find More Posts by davidmc36
No bounce, No play.
davidmc36's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Oct 2010
4,147 Posts
http://copter.ardupilot.com/wiki/com...mon-ublox-gps/
davidmc36 is online now Find More Posts by davidmc36
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2015, 09:03 PM
dmunce is offline
Find More Posts by dmunce
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
57 Posts
FTDI cable ordered; will give it a shot next week. Grrrr... been waiting two weeks already for the gps
dmunce is offline Find More Posts by dmunce
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion *QUICK HELP* Quanum Nova GPS dmunce Multirotor Talk 0 Feb 13, 2015 11:41 PM
Discussion quanum nova gps help - please help gainey Multirotor Talk 3 Oct 06, 2014 09:36 PM
Discussion PLEASE HELP!!!! QUANUM NOVA problem switching to mode2 the rc fceccare Multirotor Talk 1 Aug 19, 2014 04:13 PM
Help! Quanum Nova (Hobby King) Problem upgrade Multirotor Talk 2 Jun 09, 2014 10:01 AM
Discussion Quanum Nova FPV GPS Waypoint QuadCopter (Mode 2) (Ready to Fly) $319!! LDGILLS Multirotor Talk 0 May 28, 2014 09:17 AM