HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 26, 2006, 11:38 PM
Manassas, VA
Joined Dec 2005
489 Posts
Yippee!
QF II and a new DLG flyer

Paul,
I posted a report yesterday on the first flights of one of my two QF IIs in another thread in hand launch. Today I flew the airplane again and wanted to make sure you got this report. It was a cool 62 at lunch time and I wanted to continue to trim out the bird. The first launch I made was not too high (this is my first attempt at DLG) and I succeeded in breaking the stab and elevator pretty badly on landing. I had not glassed them on this one because I didn't think I would be making 100'+ launches. CAed it back together. On about the 8th flight I picked up a bubble at about 35' or so and rode it up a couple of hundred feet for a flight of about 5 minutes. Mind you, I have thermaled many a sailplane and free flight model, but the feeling was just incredible with this flight!
The QF II is obviously a good design and the Laser Art kits make building one easy. Thanks for the product. BTW, I am 55 and my arm still feels like its in one piece. I am hooked on DLG and the QF II. I can hardly wait for lunch tomorrow - 74 d F predicted! Attached is a photo my QF IIs right after building.
balsaaddict is offline Find More Posts by balsaaddict
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 26, 2006, 11:51 PM
PLD
Magicsmoke maker
Australia, QLD, Charters Towers
Joined Dec 2003
17,398 Posts
Phil,

-two- QFII's ... Was that to make sure you'd keep flying even if you busted one up completely?

When you start getting more adventurous and finding that you're topping out at about 90~100ft, you might want to put a block of shaped balsa on the rear of the QFII fuselage to help cut down on the drag (or just some shaped and covered foam even).

Excellent to hear that you managed a good thermal flight on your first outing, I would say that your existing gliding/FF experience helped quite a bit here.

Where abouts is your CG ?