HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 21, 2012, 05:41 AM
Posted with DragonLink
Norway, Hordaland, Ask°y
Joined Jan 2012
16 Posts
Discussion
Can I control Guardian stabilizer with DX6i?

I'm new to RC and FPV, and am doing my homework before buying anything. I don't have a big budget, so I need to make sure that what I want to end up with later down the road, will work with what I'm starting with.
Essentially, I'm doing lots of research, but will have to add components little by little- paycheck by paycheck... OSD, Guardian, data logger, GPS, etc...

I have access to wide open spaces with uninterrupted line of sight, so am counting on my AR6210 RX with DX6i providing adequate range for now.

So anyway... I would really appreciate help with 2 questions...

1. Can I control the Guardian through my DX6i TX?
2. If I expect to lose range on DX6i before AV TX (due to high power AV TX), how can I configure my FS in such a way that the RTH will save me in the event of loss of signal or DX6i failure/power, etc...?


I have searched high and low and cannot seem to find answers to these questions. Thanks!!
njwxyz is offline Find More Posts by njwxyz
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 22, 2012, 04:42 AM
Resistance is Futile
camship's Avatar
United States, FL, Panama City Beach
Joined Oct 2001
2,680 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by njwxyz View Post
I'm new to RC and FPV, and am doing my homework before buying anything. I don't have a big budget, so I need to make sure that what I want to end up with later down the road, will work with what I'm starting with.
Essentially, I'm doing lots of research, but will have to add components little by little- paycheck by paycheck... OSD, Guardian, data logger, GPS, etc...

I have access to wide open spaces with uninterrupted line of sight, so am counting on my AR6210 RX with DX6i providing adequate range for now.

So anyway... I would really appreciate help with 2 questions...

1. Can I control the Guardian through my DX6i TX?
2. If I expect to lose range on DX6i before AV TX (due to high power AV TX), how can I configure my FS in such a way that the RTH will save me in the event of loss of signal or DX6i failure/power, etc...?


I have searched high and low and cannot seem to find answers to these questions. Thanks!!
Answer #1 yes, in theory. Answer #2 I am not familiar with the programing of the DX so I don't know how it handles failsafe but the ET system is pretty flexible so I would venture a hesitant, "yes".

The DX6i is a bad way to start FPV. That is why you can't find info because folks ditch the DX (any version) very quickly as it is useless for anything but putt putt park flyers. Get a different TX. Check the Video Piloting Forum. You will be glad you did.

Best of luck to you,

Rob
camship is offline Find More Posts by camship
Last edited by camship; Jan 22, 2012 at 05:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2012, 06:00 AM
KJ4YYJ
EugeneFlorida's Avatar
Saint Petersburg FL
Joined Jun 2009
727 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by njwxyz View Post
I'm new to RC and FPV, and am doing my homework before buying anything. I don't have a big budget, so I need to make sure that what I want to end up with later down the road, will work with what I'm starting with.
Essentially, I'm doing lots of research, but will have to add components little by little- paycheck by paycheck... OSD, Guardian, data logger, GPS, etc...

I have access to wide open spaces with uninterrupted line of sight, so am counting on my AR6210 RX with DX6i providing adequate range for now.

So anyway... I would really appreciate help with 2 questions...

1. Can I control the Guardian through my DX6i TX?
2. If I expect to lose range on DX6i before AV TX (due to high power AV TX), how can I configure my FS in such a way that the RTH will save me in the event of loss of signal or DX6i failure/power, etc...?


I have searched high and low and cannot seem to find answers to these questions. Thanks!!
I used the DX6i for over a year worked great!!!
I used AUX 1 and 2 on Gear and Flap switch the plane is a Easy Star no ailerons.
Guardian I used the box stick (center stick)

I have a small place to fly in only out 2700 feet. Never had FS come on when I was flying.
But, test worked great..

How I have Dragon Link.
Hope that help
EugeneFlorida is online now Find More Posts by EugeneFlorida
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2012, 08:23 AM
Posted with DragonLink
Norway, Hordaland, Ask°y
Joined Jan 2012
16 Posts
Thanks for not beating around the bush, Camship!
I guess the old adage holds true..."Time spent on reconnaissance is seldom wasted."

Well I guess I saw that coming anyway, since the only available band in Norway (legal, and with a high enough power to be useful- many bands peak at max 50mW power allowed!!) is 4.5GHz (which has a few freqs allowed up to a whopping 2000mW power), so I guess I was going to have to do this anyway to avoid RC and AV competing for the same few available frequencies.
Oh well, guess I'll be sellin' my Spectrum after all (and whatever else of value I can find)...

Thanks again!
njwxyz is offline Find More Posts by njwxyz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2012, 03:30 PM
Resistance is Futile
camship's Avatar
United States, FL, Panama City Beach
Joined Oct 2001
2,680 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by njwxyz View Post
Thanks for not beating around the bush, Camship!
I guess the old adage holds true..."Time spent on reconnaissance is seldom wasted."

Well I guess I saw that coming anyway, since the only available band in Norway (legal, and with a high enough power to be useful- many bands peak at max 50mW power allowed!!) is 4.5GHz (which has a few freqs allowed up to a whopping 2000mW power), so I guess I was going to have to do this anyway to avoid RC and AV competing for the same few available frequencies.
Oh well, guess I'll be sellin' my Spectrum after all (and whatever else of value I can find)...

Thanks again!
Wow, 4.5GHz. Check the FPV forum. I know there is a small community of Norwegian FPV'ers that can fill you in.

Go for it!

Rob
camship is offline Find More Posts by camship
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 01:14 AM
Posted with DragonLink
Norway, Hordaland, Ask°y
Joined Jan 2012
16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by camship View Post
Wow, 4.5GHz. Check the FPV forum. I know there is a small community of Norwegian FPV'ers that can fill you in.

Go for it!

Rob
Uhhhh...I mean 2.4GHz... not 4.5. Cerebral gas-passing... ;-) or paralysis by analysis... time to stop researching and buy something!
Cheers, Rob.
njwxyz is offline Find More Posts by njwxyz
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2013, 04:41 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2008
6 Posts
Eclipse 7 transmitter

Quote:
Originally Posted by njwxyz View Post
I'm new to RC and FPV, and am doing my homework before buying anything. I don't have a big budget, so I need to make sure that what I want to end up with later down the road, will work with what I'm starting with.
Essentially, I'm doing lots of research, but will have to add components little by little- paycheck by paycheck... OSD, Guardian, data logger, GPS, etc...

I have access to wide open spaces with uninterrupted line of sight, so am counting on my AR6210 RX with DX6i providing adequate range for now.

So anyway... I would really appreciate help with 2 questions...

1. Can I control the Guardian through my DX6i TX?
2. If I expect to lose range on DX6i before AV TX (due to high power AV TX), how can I configure my FS in such a way that the RTH will save me in the event of loss of signal or DX6i failure/power, etc...?


I have searched high and low and cannot seem to find answers to these questions. Thanks!!
I also would like to know how to program the Guardian to a 3 way switch on my Eclipse 7 transmitter. I am at a loss!
wedreagle is offline Find More Posts by wedreagle
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2014, 08:19 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2014
3 Posts
Using the DX6i with Eagletree Guardian

Check out my youtube video

A simpler 3 positiion switch setup for Spektrum DX6i and the Eagletree Guardian (5 min 26 sec)
ldeboer112 is offline Find More Posts by ldeboer112
Reply With Quote
Old May 09, 2014, 07:13 PM
Registered User
United States, NC, Greensboro
Joined Apr 2014
6 Posts
The video is a great idea! Works great, I just used gear for mode and flaps on off in mix
Uretek is offline Find More Posts by Uretek
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2014, 12:17 PM
Gravity gives sinking feeling
Joined Jun 2011
1,717 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by njwxyz View Post
I'm new to RC and FPV, and am doing my homework before buying anything. I don't have a big budget, so I need to make sure that what I want to end up with later down the road, will work with what I'm starting with.
Essentially, I'm doing lots of research, but will have to add components little by little- paycheck by paycheck... OSD, Guardian, data logger, GPS, etc...

I have access to wide open spaces with uninterrupted line of sight, so am counting on my AR6210 RX with DX6i providing adequate range for now.

So anyway... I would really appreciate help with 2 questions...

1. Can I control the Guardian through my DX6i TX?
2. If I expect to lose range on DX6i before AV TX (due to high power AV TX), how can I configure my FS in such a way that the RTH will save me in the event of loss of signal or DX6i failure/power, etc...?


I have searched high and low and cannot seem to find answers to these questions. Thanks!!
With all respect to guys here, it might be worth visiting the following thread. Lots of helpful guys are there:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...2#post28539470
CurrentDude is online now Find More Posts by CurrentDude
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion When to and How to use mixing control with DX6i TruSpeed Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 10 Jun 21, 2012 09:14 AM
Help! Can't get Guardian to work Tony97 Eagle Tree Systems 1 Aug 30, 2011 10:36 PM
Wanted stabilizer control set Xilefchin Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Jun 28, 2011 11:20 AM
Question DX6i, mixed to control tank-like motors with single stick? marhar Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 3 May 16, 2011 12:01 AM
Can you help me with stabilizer design? jdmartin8 Parkflyers 5 May 20, 2001 10:53 PM