New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jun 16, 2015, 12:19 PM
ogg2000 is offline
Find More Posts by ogg2000
Registered User
Joined Jun 2013
32 Posts
OK thanks - I guess I'll just have to experiment, and buy a cheap laptop otherwise it will be a long process.

I have another question, please. I have Input 7 set up as the input to enable 'I Adjust Heading Lock'. The default values for all axes are 0.000 - is the Heading lock function always inactive at the default? If I set the values to 0.01 as suggested in the manual and send to the gyro, when I read it back the values are back at 0.000. Is this working correctly?

The saved text file shows these values:

RTIgainX : 0.01
RTIgainY : 0.01
RTIgainZ : 0.01

Firmware version 3.41

Dave
ogg2000 is offline Find More Posts by ogg2000
Last edited by ogg2000; Jun 16, 2015 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 20, 2015, 04:42 PM
smassel is offline
Find More Posts by smassel
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
4 Posts
GreatPlanes F1 Rocket Maiden w/ Ice-man Gyro

Just recorded the maiden flight of the F1 Rocket with the Ice-Man gyro (and Bluelight-tech isolation switch) today. Check it out:
GreatPlanes F1 Rocket Evo Maiden Flight (9 min 56 sec)

Flies very well. I'm using the gyro really more as a controller here, but its good to have it for take-off and to switch it on as needed in windy conditions for extra stability.
It comes in very fast, but room for improvement on the landings!

Gyro gains set to:
Pitch (x): 4.3
Roll: (y): 4.7
Yaw: (z) 8.4

Steve
smassel is offline Find More Posts by smassel
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2015, 06:33 AM
IceManPro is offline
Find More Posts by IceManPro
Manufacturer
IceManPro's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
308 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogg2000 View Post
.. when I read it back the values are back at 0.000. Is this working correctly?

Dave
This sounds right, since you're not setting the I value as a fixed static value (as you would if you did this from the Prof1 tab page). It is only set temporarily. Note also that it will be reset back to 0 when the sticks are moved away from central, unless you use the special firmware v3.5 which removes this resetting for the yaw. (See a previous post on this forum on this subject)
IceManPro is offline Find More Posts by IceManPro
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2015, 06:47 AM
IceManPro is offline
Find More Posts by IceManPro
Manufacturer
IceManPro's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
308 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by smassel View Post
Just recorded the maiden flight of the F1 Rocket with the Ice-Man gyro (and Bluelight-tech isolation switch) today.

Steve
Looks good. Could try some flaperons to slow down the landing speed..
IceManPro is offline Find More Posts by IceManPro
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2015, 03:07 AM
jaccies is offline
Find More Posts by jaccies
Registered User
The Netherlands, LI, Venray
Joined Dec 2008
1,460 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by smassel View Post
Just recorded the maiden flight of the F1 Rocket with the Ice-Man gyro (and Bluelight-tech isolation switch) today. Check it out:
https://youtu.be/xWuu8y0YWN4
Flies very well. I'm using the gyro really more as a controller here, but its good to have it for take-off and to switch it on as needed in windy conditions for extra stability.
It comes in very fast, but room for improvement on the landings!

Gyro gains set to:
Pitch (x): 4.3
Roll: (y): 4.7
Yaw: (z) 8.4

Steve
Steve you coming in much to fast , slow down earlier
jaccies is offline Find More Posts by jaccies
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2015, 11:41 AM
ogg2000 is offline
Find More Posts by ogg2000
Registered User
Joined Jun 2013
32 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceManPro View Post
This sounds right, since you're not setting the I value as a fixed static value (as you would if you did this from the Prof1 tab page). It is only set temporarily. Note also that it will be reset back to 0 when the sticks are moved away from central, unless you use the special firmware v3.5 which removes this resetting for the yaw. (See a previous post on this forum on this subject)
Ok thanks for the reply

Dave
ogg2000 is offline Find More Posts by ogg2000
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2015, 11:43 AM
smassel is offline
Find More Posts by smassel
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
4 Posts
Yes, I need to come in slower. Didn't want to come in too slow on the Maiden flight, but will try to slow it down from further out.
smassel is offline Find More Posts by smassel
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion GPS - - Blue light off after 10 mins part141 Hoverfly Technologies 11 Aug 09, 2012 11:54 PM
Help! Optima 9 RX blue LED won't light edge_pilot Hitec/Multiplex USA 6 Jul 15, 2012 06:34 PM
Gallery Cinestar 8 Gimbal Stability Test and Canon 7D low light test with the Tokina 11-16 HeliVids Aerial Photography 0 Jun 13, 2012 07:45 AM
Discussion GPS not working (blue light only blinks once) DesertDrones FPV Talk 3 Jun 12, 2012 10:37 PM