SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 02, 2010, 05:43 AM
Joined Jan 2009
68 Posts
Discussion
3 or 4 channel for a beginner

Hi everyone,

As this is my first thread( Been reading many threads though! ) on this forum, I guess I am ready for my first RC plane. Even though I have been involved in aviation for many years but never had an RC plane , so I understand it is something to be learned with patience.

I read some great tips and advices on this forum. However I have few question which I appreciate if you can help to clarify

First, Should I start from a 3 or 4 channel plane? Important thing for me is to learn it ( self-taught ) properly . So I am not sure a 3-channel ( No aileron ) plane would be a good choice ?

Although, I read few threads on here about beginner plane and majority voted for a 3-channel plane , After a bit of reading and research I came across two models which I think can be suitable for me :
Other thing is the price for a 4 channel and 3 channel is very similar here (New Zealand) so I am wondering what should I buy?! Here is a FMS Cessna 182 which is similar price (http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/List...x?id=335388017)

I have problems deciding between above. Any feedback or suggestion please?
Or if you think I should start with a 4-channel ??

Enlighten me

Ben
bennz is offline Find More Posts by bennz
Last edited by bennz; Dec 02, 2010 at 05:54 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 02, 2010, 06:12 AM
222 km/hr Parkjet flyer
Latvia, Ventspils pilsēta, Ventspils
Joined Jan 2010
9,121 Posts
I am one who advocates a 4ch trainer style plane. I used to teach many to fly years ago and 3ch was not my preferred choice.

But go-it-alone ... you need a forgiving plane and that means high-wing with a touch of dihedral. Good wing area and preferably not tapered. 4ch - yes even though others will say dihedral and ailerons do not go together - that's rubbish as long as dihedral is not excessive.