HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 21, 2014, 04:49 PM
Addicted
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Dec 2011
1,068 Posts
Question
Stepping up 2S to 3S voltage

I am running a motor and 7.4V 2S battery to keep the Kv lower. However, I want to add a gimbal that works on 11.1-14.8V (3S-4S power).

Would adding this suffice?

http://www.pololu.com/product/2117

Thank you.
Sixinarow is online now Find More Posts by Sixinarow
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 23, 2014, 04:53 PM
Registered User
United States, ID
Joined Sep 2011
417 Posts
Somebody just asked the same question. He seemed to think he was going to need a lot more than 1.4A.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2070327

My question is... why is a gimbal taking so much power. It doesn't seem to make any sense.

Can you post the gimbal you're using? Knowing the specs would help with a better answer.
jakestew is offline Find More Posts by jakestew
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2014, 08:39 AM
Addicted
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Dec 2011
1,068 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakestew View Post
Somebody just asked the same question. He seemed to think he was going to need a lot more than 1.4A.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2070327

My question is... why is a gimbal taking so much power. It doesn't seem to make any sense.

Can you post the gimbal you're using? Knowing the specs would help with a better answer.
Thanks, Jake. I *thought* I saw some gimbals requiring 3S minimum but I see here, on this one http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...tors_AXN_.html it runs at 8-9 volts and I will be using a 2S. (This is for a project for a customer that wants me to add a gimbal. Personally, I'd get something better but if it works, then great.)
Sixinarow is online now Find More Posts by Sixinarow
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2014, 04:48 AM
Registered User
United States, ID
Joined Sep 2011
417 Posts
I don't know what those guys are thinking. No reason for a gimbal to need more than 5v and an amp or so of current.
jakestew is offline Find More Posts by jakestew
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion I need to step up voltage from 11.1 to 22.2 milo12 DIY Electronics 12 Jan 11, 2014 02:55 AM
Discussion Looking to step up voltage from 11.1 to 22.2 milo12 Multirotor Electronics 1 Jan 05, 2014 10:21 PM
Help! camera step up voltage regulator question snoshoe62 FPV Equipment 5 Dec 16, 2013 05:13 PM
Build Log How to install 2s Brushless in a Parkzone Micro Step-by-Step RcAirplaneNoob Micro Ready-to-Fly 0 Nov 25, 2013 07:25 PM
Found fatshark 2s/3s power filter (2s/3s/4s is ok too) 3d astronaut FPV Equipment (FS/W) 5 Nov 21, 2013 10:36 AM