HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 10, 2013, 09:56 AM
Keep it Simple Stupid
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Jul 2011
244 Posts
Discussion
An Open source 32" Balsa + Foam slowflyer

Hey all, I've been working for about 2 years on an idea for what will one-day be my self-introduction into the world of composites. However, since that's expensive and time-consuming, I'm doing a prototype of the design first.

EVERYTHING from the tools to the plans is completely open-source - I didn't pay a single penny for any of the software, only the time it took to learn how to use it. All my hard work is being shared completely in the open to encourage, use, feedback and community modifications (as long as they're also shared).

Recently the first release of the prototype plans were pulbished plans on my build-log over here. The measurement details and internal components over here.

I thought I'd open up a discussion thread here, since I think it's a more appropriate place for wood-flying-thing discussion and for me to post pictures of my bumbling conversion of perfectly good wood into sawdust "lessons" .

Though I'm reserve the right to delete any naked criticisms (i.e. without "constructive" suggestions). Questions and positive feedback are always welcome!
razortoe is offline Find More Posts by razortoe
to remove ads between posts
Old May 10, 2013, 10:01 AM
Keep it Simple Stupid
Joined Jul 2011
244 Posts
Clarification

The fuselage is built-up from wood, the wings and tail surfaces will be foam (for weight reasons). Though I'm sure balsa structures could be used there, I'd like to be able to throw away the wings and try a new set cheaply/quickly. Remember this is a design-prototype.
Old May 10, 2013, 03:23 PM
Norfolk, England
Joined Sep 2001
7,600 Posts
My only query, at this point, is why would you 'design' a model which already exists in umpteen different cosmetic variations? Is there some particular aim behind this, other than to learn to use CAD?

Pete