HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 16, 2014, 03:30 PM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,115 Posts
4mm connectors are barely suitable for continuous 40 amps. However FMA uses a slightly longer than normal plug that increases contact area. Even still it will tend to run a little warm. You can clean the contacts on the charger and the bananas with some Deoxit. That will help improve the connection and reduce heat.
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Dual Powerlab Case Project
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 24, 2014, 06:59 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2014
5 Posts
What sort of output would u get if you use the powerstation with the 8x2?
Get2daChoppa is offline Find More Posts by Get2daChoppa
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 09:43 AM
BVH
Registered User
BVH's Avatar
United States, CA, Pismo Beach
Joined Dec 2006
229 Posts
I've got to be missing something simple. I had a couple of Prismatic 3.3V/100 Ah cells that I was discharging for recycling and I wanted to discharge them internally, 1 per channel on my DPL8. I set the discharge current for 20 Amps on each channel and used the 1-5S non-balanced preset with a 2.0 V discharge level. When I use CCS to start the discharge, the screen where the charge/discharge/ etc choice is, I verify that discharge is set for 20 Amps. But when the discharge starts, the best I can get is 10 Amps, 33 Watts and the "set point" reads only 10 Amps., not the 20 I set and CCS confirms. I can't see anything in that preset that would limit the current to 10 Amps. What am I missing?
BVH is online now Find More Posts by BVH
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 11:13 AM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,115 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Get2daChoppa View Post
What sort of output would u get if you use the powerstation with the 8x2?
A general rule of thumb is the charger will be able to deliver about 90% of the supply's power to the packs.

The power station is 1320W which means 1188 watts to the packs. To determine the amount of current, divide 1188 by the pack voltage. For 3s that would max out both channels. For 6s that would be about 23 amps per channel.
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Dual Powerlab Case Project
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 11:18 AM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,115 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BVH View Post
I've got to be missing something simple. I had a couple of Prismatic 3.3V/100 Ah cells that I was discharging for recycling and I wanted to discharge them internally, 1 per channel on my DPL8. I set the discharge current for 20 Amps on each channel and used the 1-5S non-balanced preset with a 2.0 V discharge level. When I use CCS to start the discharge, the screen where the charge/discharge/ etc choice is, I verify that discharge is set for 20 Amps. But when the discharge starts, the best I can get is 10 Amps, 33 Watts and the "set point" reads only 10 Amps., not the 20 I set and CCS confirms. I can't see anything in that preset that would limit the current to 10 Amps. What am I missing?
Internal discharge is limited to 10a or 95w, which ever comes first. If you configure the packs as 2s or 3s you will be able to get closer to the maximum internal wattage rating. From the specs:

Output battery discharge current: Internal discharge 10mA to 10A, 95W max Regenerative discharge 10mA to 40A, 1344W max**
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Dual Powerlab Case Project
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 11:30 AM
BVH
Registered User
BVH's Avatar
United States, CA, Pismo Beach
Joined Dec 2006
229 Posts
Ahhhhhhhh..... Somehow I skimmed right over the 10 Amp max for internal. Thanks!
BVH is online now Find More Posts by BVH
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2014, 01:27 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2014
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor99 View Post
A general rule of thumb is the charger will be able to deliver about 90% of the supply's power to the packs.

The power station is 1320W which means 1188 watts to the packs. To determine the amount of current, divide 1188 by the pack voltage. For 3s that would max out both channels. For 6s that would be about 23 amps per channel.
Great, thanks for that, sounds like its the combo for me.
Get2daChoppa is offline Find More Posts by Get2daChoppa
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2014, 08:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2014
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor99 View Post
A general rule of thumb is the charger will be able to deliver about 90% of the supply's power to the packs.

The power station is 1320W which means 1188 watts to the packs. To determine the amount of current, divide 1188 by the pack voltage. For 3s that would max out both channels. For 6s that would be about 23 amps per channel.
What if 2 x PL6's are connected to the 1320w power station.... what sort of amps per channel for 3s and 6s? Thanks for your help..
Get2daChoppa is offline Find More Posts by Get2daChoppa
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2014, 02:25 PM
Registered User
USA
Joined Jan 2002
4,550 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Get2daChoppa View Post
What if 2 x PL6's are connected to the 1320w power station.... what sort of amps per channel for 3s and 6s? Thanks for your help..
You may find his very helpful. I know I did when it was first created:

http://www.revolectrix.com/Calculators_main.htm

It will show you exactly what you can do based on your power supply and Revolectrix charger.
Ohmic is online now Find More Posts by Ohmic
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2014, 04:01 PM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,115 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Get2daChoppa View Post
What if 2 x PL6's are connected to the 1320w power station.... what sort of amps per channel for 3s and 6s? Thanks for your help..
Same.
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Dual Powerlab Case Project
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2014, 04:03 PM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,115 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohmic View Post
You may find his very helpful. I know I did when it was first created:

http://www.revolectrix.com/Calculators_main.htm

It will show you exactly what you can do based on your power supply and Revolectrix charger.
Good point. These are very handy. Only add I would include is the calculators are based on a conservative 85%. My experience has been for all tested scenarios, I achieved 90% or more efficiency.
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Dual Powerlab Case Project
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2014, 08:27 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2014
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor99 View Post
Same.

this is confusing me, I had a look at the PL6 power calculator on the Revolectrix website, and if I enter 12 volts, 27.5 amps (half of the power stations supply) then it gives about 11amps to 6s packs.

Is that the correct way of thinking? The Powerstation's Volts and Amps is halved to each PL6?
Get2daChoppa is offline Find More Posts by Get2daChoppa
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2014, 10:07 PM
Registered User
USA
Joined Jan 2002
4,550 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Get2daChoppa View Post
this is confusing me, I had a look at the PL6 power calculator on the Revolectrix website, and if I enter 12 volts, 27.5 amps (half of the power stations supply) then it gives about 11amps to 6s packs.

Is that the correct way of thinking? The Powerstation's Volts and Amps is halved to each PL6?
I see that power supply has both 24V and 12V outputs. If you connect two PL6 chargers to the 24V output on the power supply both chargers will see 24V. However, the current (up to 55A max) will be consumed by the chargers based on what you are charging. In other words, don't exceed 55A (combined) when both chargers are charging.

As an example, I'm running a Dual PowerLab 8 (DPL8x2) using a 1500W 48V power supply capable of 35A out. The DPL8x2 is essentially two PL8 chargers in a single case. As long as both chargers combined don't exceed the 35A the power supply is capable of I'm okay. I actually wouldn't run right at the 35A max output, that's the theory behind how to size your load property when connecting multiple chargers to a power supply. You just don't want to exceed the capacity of your power supply.
Ohmic is online now Find More Posts by Ohmic
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2014, 06:17 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2014
5 Posts
^thanks, that explains a lot and makes it clear
Get2daChoppa is offline Find More Posts by Get2daChoppa
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2014, 08:10 AM
Registered User
USA
Joined Jan 2002
4,550 Posts
Also, in the Charge Control Software (CCS) for the PowerLab chargers you can specify the size of your power supply so the charger doesn't draw more current than the amount set. You could either set both chargers to 50% of your power supply's current capacity or any combination thereof so you don't exceed the power supply's current capacity.

Prior to the PowerLab chargers we had to calculate this manually when running multiple charges from a single power supply, but the CCS makes it much easier these days.

I try don't run my power supplies over 80-90% of there rated capacity just to leave a little headroom.
Ohmic is online now Find More Posts by Ohmic
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Introducing the ALL NEW Cellpro PowerLab 6 (EC5 version) Charger Howard Matos FMA Direct 414 Jul 09, 2014 01:15 AM
Discussion New Powerlab 8X2 302 Z28 Batteries and Chargers 9 Jul 27, 2013 08:08 AM
Discussion Revolectrix Cellpro PowerLab 8 (Charges In 5 Min?) Nickerz Batteries and Chargers 1 Feb 11, 2013 02:30 AM
Discussion The NEXT Cellpro PowerLab from FMA/Revolectrix RCnGuy FMA Direct 13 Aug 20, 2012 09:27 PM
Sold Revolectrix/FMA direct Cellpro PowerLab 8 unused new thwang99 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 2 Aug 26, 2010 03:24 PM