HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 28, 2011, 06:04 AM
New Zealand, Wellington, Lower Hutt
Joined Sep 2011
115 Posts
Discussion
Pusher prop vs Standard prop

Hi everyone, complete newbie question here.

I've got a foamie wing that I'm keen to mount a motor on in a pusher config. I'm looking into the correct prop to buy for it, and am wondering if I need to buy a pusher prop for it?

I don't have a prop in front of me at the moment so I can't quite visualise what's going to happen. Presumably to use a standard prop you'd have to have the motor spinning "backwards". Is that correct? I assume as it's an electric motor it should run equally well forwards or backwards?

DaveTheKiwi is offline Find More Posts by DaveTheKiwi
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 28, 2011, 06:24 AM
Old age is not for sissies
Dayton Intl, Ohio, United States
Joined Jan 2000
8,029 Posts
[QUOTE=DaveTheKiwi

I don't have a prop in front of me at the moment so I can't quite visualise what's going to happen. Presumably to use a standard prop you'd have to have the motor spinning "backwards". Is that correct? I assume as it's an electric motor it should run equally well forwards or backwards?

[/QUOTE]

Welcome to RC Groups. Yes, you are correct. You reverse the motor and install the prop with the convex side facing the direction of flight. The reverse pitch props for electric flight are mainly used for counter rotating motors on multi engines to eliminate torque, on contra rotating motors and for the mushrooming multi rotor tri/quad/octo copter market.

That being said, there's no reason not to use a reverse pitch prop if you have one, just don't reverse the motor.

Azarr
Azarr is offline Find More Posts by Azarr
Last edited by Azarr; Sep 28, 2011 at 06:34 AM.
Old Sep 28, 2011, 08:45 AM
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,768 Posts