HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 01, 2007, 07:05 AM
Mt. Dora, Florida
USA, FL, Mt Dora
Joined Dec 2006
4,040 Posts
Help!
Hobbico Avistar from Fuel to electric convert.............

I was given a Hobbico Avistar by a club member who crashed it upon take off. The only damage was to the engine firewall, which I repaired in about 5 minutes. He said he doesn't repair them. I asked him if he wanted the plane back because I'm not into glow, but he said the only thing he wanted back was the .40 sized engine.

My situation is, how would I convert the Avistar over to electric? I'm a newb with just a few flights under my belt with an instructor. I'm not sure how it could be done because the plane is a tad heavy even without a motor or battery setup. Right now, I'm using a Hobbico Superstar EP stock setup that I fly for training purposes.

Thanks for any insight,
Mike
mtdoramike is offline Find More Posts by mtdoramike
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 01, 2007, 07:25 PM
USA, FL, Apopka
Joined Sep 2003
1,134 Posts
I flew one with a Jeti Phasor 30/3 on 3s with a 40 esc. Originally had a 10 cell nimh pack, the I flew it on a 3s4p Thunder Power Gen 1 pack.

Typically at our field, the guys are running 400-500 watts with either a 3s or 4s pack.

One of many combo would be a E-flight power 46 running on a 4s 3700 lipo pack. A Castle Creations Phoenix 45 or better yet a Phoenix 60 would work great. Use either a receiver pack or a ubec to power the radio.

John
jonnyjetprop is offline Find More Posts by jonnyjetprop
Old Jun 01, 2007, 08:31 PM
Deletedfor proving Nauga wrong
Joined Mar 2005
15,855 Posts
Essentially... get the power package thats in the ElectriStar.

Or.. get the Electristar instead of the Avistar....
fhhuber506771 is offline Find More Posts by fhhuber506771
Old Jun 02, 2007, 06:15 AM
Mt. Dora, Florida
USA, FL, Mt Dora
Joined Dec 2006
4,040 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhhuber506771
Essentially... get the power package thats in the ElectriStar.