HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 24, 2014, 12:50 PM
Scratch Builder
United States, NM, Deming
Joined Apr 2014
45 Posts
Mini-HowTo
76" Tiger 90

I have been in the building mood lately. It is the hottest month of the year and the shop is cool and comfortable, so what the heck. I recently noticed that my stable of planes seemed to be getting old, and some were due to be retired and hung up on the shop ceiling. At first it seemed like they were just built a year or two ago, but then when the records were checked, two of the favorites were 10 and 12 years old - they earned their retirement.

Three weeks ago I drew up a slightly oversize Senior Kadet. I had been flying powered rockets and pattern planes for many years now, and it was time for a plane that would slow things down a bit - you know - something that would lower the blood pressure instead of raise it. On my blog there are more photos of the Kadet, along with a blog named "Blowing things up". I have been a scratch builder for as long as I can remember, and have never owned an ARF. Check out the 20-some photos on the blowing up blog and you will notice that I have liked scratching larger planes for most of the last 40 years. They simply fly better, and scratch building is far cheaper than kits and ARFs, but the real reason for building your own planes is that you can build them properly, so you will have a plane that will last for a thousand flights and not wear out in one season .