HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 05, 2010, 03:37 PM
Langley B.C Canada
Joined Feb 2003
503 Posts
Discussion
I think I've made a mistake.

Hello,

Well I'm a newbie to rc sailing and although I have done some reading on what a good first boat would be I've gone ahead and bought the Equipage Olympia 100.......price was 170.00 cdn. at first I was going to buy the Storm 100 it looked cheap and you could see all the planking down the sides of the boat.
So after starting to put it all together there are some real crappy things that stand out right away, first the servo tray is just a piece of flat flimsy plastic so no real box to hold it all together. 2nd the rudder is loose on its shaft.....
I'm not really complaining but I didn't want to spend a tone of money on a Kyosho, or thunder tiger so I guess I get what I pay for .
So if anyone else has bought this boat if you have any tips ???

Thanks
Brian T
Brian T is offline Find More Posts by Brian T
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 05, 2010, 05:41 PM
Joined Oct 2008
9 Posts
Think you made a mistake...

Hi, Brian-
Sad to hear, and, unfortunately- all too often true. There is so much junk for sale... there's a ton of it on eBay. It's a shame more people don't research their purchases first in these groups. Hopefully someone else can learn from others mistakes. The CR914 is a good boat kit, comes with everything you need and is a great sailing boat right out of the box. Of course, it costs more. There are other good boats, Kyosho makes some good ones. Unfortunately, the old addage "You get what you pay for" is still true. Fancy paint jobs and pictures do not a good boat make.