SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:28 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
926 Posts
As you have noticed, when using 100 % gyro weight, the gyro is pretty accurate on it's own. The difficult part is the magnetometer that's pretty damn sensitive to noise, current from wires etc. Unfortunatly some drift will always occur on the gyro, which have to be accounted for. 99% gyro-weight should be fine.

Pick whatever works best for you, but be aware that 0% = only magnetometer and 100% = only gyro. For tilt/roll 0 % = only accelerometer.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:28 PM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,659 Posts
OK in a nutshell, here's what I learnt the hard way.

1 Most importantly, the sensor board MUST be located component side up and not as in the magnetometer cal screen.

2 On the GIU screen click on "show" menu and select advanced settings. in the top right hand corner some adjustment of the "gyro weight on pan %" may be necessary, 99% seems best.

3 In the accelerometer cal screen click on "help" menu and select help/how to, to see exactly how to position the sensor for calibration.

4 Regular resetting of the Arduino by pressing the on-board reset button seems to help

5 Select disconnect when exiting a calibration screen to release the serial link so it can be used by another cal screen.

Andy.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:34 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
926 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyOne View Post
OK in a nutshell, here's what I learnt the hard way.

1 Most importantly, the sensor board MUST be located component side up and not as in the magnetometer cal screen.

2 On the GIU screen click on "show" menu and select advanced settings. in the top right hand corner some adjustment of the "gyro weight on pan %" may be necessary, 99% seems best.

3 In the accelerometer cal screen click on "help" menu and select help/how to, to see exactly how to position the sensor for calibration.

4 Regular resetting of the Arduino by pressing the on-board reset button seems to help

5 Select disconnect when exiting a calibration screen to release the serial link so it can be used by another cal screen.

Andy.
Always good to know to obvious things I haven't documented good enough... Documenting is not really my strong side.

Reset shouldn't be necessary - at least quite a few people have been able to make it work pretty good without drift.

Anyway, if you ever need to reset center, it's a lot better to connect a button between to be used as "set center".

The pin is defined in config:
// Button input:
#define BUTTON_INPUT 11

Just connect a button between the pin defined (in this case 11)) and ground. Will make it center immediately with no start-up delay
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 06:34 PM
Registered User
Узбекистан
Joined Mar 2007
29 Posts
Thank you so much! In few last posts I found almost all answers for my quetions and misunderstandings.
Last one - components up during mag calibration?
how_eee is offline Find More Posts by how_eee
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 07:48 PM
Registered User
United States, MN, Bloomington
Joined Jan 2008
130 Posts
subscribed
primestick is offline Find More Posts by primestick
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 12:47 AM
Registered User
P.I.Engineer's Avatar
United States, CA, Redondo Beach
Joined Mar 2005
634 Posts
did mine up today, that was super easy.

thanks for all the work.
P.I.Engineer is offline Find More Posts by P.I.Engineer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 04:43 AM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,659 Posts
I wish mine had been easy, I did learn a lot in the process though.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 12:09 AM
Registered User
P.I.Engineer's Avatar
United States, CA, Redondo Beach
Joined Mar 2005
634 Posts
check that, did some more testing.

my tilt works perfect, my pan, not so much.

when i pan, it pans but then moves back to center on it's own.

It shows the same thing happening on the plot.

it appears from the mag cal .exe that all the sensors are outputting correctly. So now i'm confused

Edit: just searched this thread, i'm not the only one with this issue.
P.I.Engineer is offline Find More Posts by P.I.Engineer
Last edited by P.I.Engineer; Nov 25, 2012 at 12:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 02:48 AM
Registered User
Узбекистан
Joined Mar 2007
29 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrod155 View Post
check that, did some more testing.

my tilt works perfect, my pan, not so much.

.
Did you calibrate mag as shown in pictures?
try to calibrate it inverted, first 2 pictures componets up.
how_eee is offline Find More Posts by how_eee
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 04:17 AM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,659 Posts
Drifting back to centre is what happens if the board is upside-down.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:49 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Magyarország, Baranya, Pécs
Joined Feb 2008
423 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyOne View Post
Drifting back to centre is what happens if the board is upside-down.

A.

Or if the endpoint is too high!
Gabek is offline Find More Posts by Gabek
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 09:52 AM
Registered User
P.I.Engineer's Avatar
United States, CA, Redondo Beach
Joined Mar 2005
634 Posts
which way is up?

sensor board up or usb up?
P.I.Engineer is offline Find More Posts by P.I.Engineer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:05 AM
LKJ
Lars k Jensen
Denmark, Central Denmark Region, Tostrup
Joined Apr 2006
619 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrod155 View Post
which way is up?

sensor board up or usb up?
USB is on the controller board and it doesn't care, its is the sensor board vho need to have the component side up.

Lars.
LKJ is offline Find More Posts by LKJ
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:06 PM
Registered User
P.I.Engineer's Avatar
United States, CA, Redondo Beach
Joined Mar 2005
634 Posts
yeah, that's the way i have it, still drifting.

I'll mess with it more this week.
P.I.Engineer is offline Find More Posts by P.I.Engineer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:29 PM
vpb
Registered User
Joined Jun 2012
51 Posts
Has anyone try Dennis Frie code on crius se board?
vpb is offline Find More Posts by vpb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Diy osd (Arduino and opensource) Dennis Frie FPV Equipment 2413 Aug 08, 2014 01:30 AM
Discussion PPM to PWM circuit for headtracker 38cjc38 DIY Electronics 18 Mar 04, 2011 06:43 AM
Question Adding additional PPM inputs to a headtracker/module setup. SebastianJ FPV Talk 0 Aug 19, 2009 07:38 AM
Question Adding additional PPM inputs to a headtracker. SebastianJ DIY Electronics 0 Aug 18, 2009 03:37 PM