HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 20, 2013, 07:24 PM
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Nov 2013
7 Posts
Discussion
Cutting Foam with a Hot Wire

A question on how to cut foam with a hot wire. I am a bona fide newbie, just starting. I will be building a trainer and anticipate making multiple sets of wings for replacing those destroyed in the process of learning to fly. (Probably multiple aircraft is more like it.) Somewhere between 40" and 48" WS, simple rectangular shape, simple flat bottomed Clark Y airfoil. In shaping the airfoil of the half spans, what is the preferred practice (and why)? Bringing the hot wire cutter to a securely mounted work piece? OR bringing the work piece to the wire which is set out from the edge of the work bench by several inches, the frame being clamped to the bench.

I have seen at least one video of someone using the second procedure, supporting the work piece with a piece flat material. This looks it might be easier to do.

If bringing the wire to the work piece is preferred, how, with what, does a body secure/mount the work piece to something to keep it from moving around.
hoss4659 is offline Find More Posts by hoss4659
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 20, 2013, 07:36 PM
San Diego
Joined Mar 2003
2,315 Posts
Not sure if you are asking about "blocking" or cutting the actual airfoil?

I assume you have a bow and templates already?
Ward Hagaman is offline Find More Posts by Ward Hagaman
Old Dec 20, 2013, 07:58 PM
Red Merle ALES
United States, Mt, Helena
Joined Apr 2002
5,716 Posts
hoss4659,

Welcome. You can start by reading the article I wrote for RCSD called "Build an Automated Foam Wing Core Cutter". The link to it is here: http://tailwindgliders.com/Files.html#Articles

To answer your question the foam is heavily weighted down and the wire is moved from leading edge to trailing edge cutting the bottom airfoil first then the top airfoil.

Happy Holidays
Curtis
Montana