HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 27, 2014, 12:51 PM
Radio? Screwdriver!
United Kingdom, England, Bristol
Joined Aug 2011
907 Posts
New Product
DIY/Opensource Fatshark 32Ch 5.8GHz Rx Module for BOSCAM/SkyRF/RV/immersionRC/etc

Hi all,

TL;DR (Too Long; Didn't Read): A 5.8GHz 32 channel receiver module that fits into the Fatshark Dominator/Predators/others. Much like the TBS 5.8GHz Dominator Rx module - but with the ability to change the band with a magnet (no need to make a hole in the plastic or open them up) and as its Open Sourced - it's possible to retune it for any new 5.8GHz systems that come out! If you're interested in one, let me know below as I can knock a few to sell.

I'm relatively new to FPV (been flying regular LOS club flying for quite a while now though) and I managed to score a pair of hardly used FatShark Predators V1 with a bunch of ImmersionRC video transmitters off a fellow flying club member who didn't get on with FPV. However the quality of the video quality was poor and the range was rubbish. After Googling around a bit, it turns out that some of the supplied modules are dodgy and the older version wasn't that sensitive. Also I found out that tthere are two main 5.8GHz systems not compatible with each other- Airwave (used in immersionRC/Fatshark) and SkyRF (BOSCAM/TBS/RangeVideo/pretty much everything else).

After a bit more Googling to try and solve my problem I found that there are these main options:
  1. Buy a Boscam RC832 32channel 5.8GHz receiver and strap it to your head.
  2. Buy a new version 5.8GHz Fatshark module and only use the expensive Fatshark and ImmersionRC video transmitters.
  3. Buy a Team Black Sheep 5.8GHz Dominator Rx module.