HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 04, 2012, 09:24 PM
Atlanta, GA
Joined Mar 2009
882 Posts
Build Log
Cermark MB-339

Alright here goes. I recently upgraded my Wren 44 turbine to the new Wren 75 Jubilee. Ron at Wren USA gave me a great trade in on my 44. With the new 75 putting out about 18lbs of thrust I figured it's time to step up to a larger aircraft. I've been flying 80-90mm EDF's for a couple of years but as I continue to progress in the hobby I've been sucked in by the smell of Kerosene and that awesome turbine sound. My buddy Frank was selling an old unbuilt Cermark (DL Aeromodels) MB-339 for a great price so I figured I'd go for it rather than dropping a couple thousand dollars on a new airframe of a more popular aircraft. I haven't been able to find very much information on builds for this kit so I figured I start my own build thread.

One of the first questions I have to answer is how much fuel I'll need and where will I position the fuel tanks? If anyone has any information to share about this plane, I'd be very greatful for the help. The Wren 75 burns about 9oz of fuel a minute at full throttle so I figure I need close to 50oz to get between 5 and 10 minutes of flight, depending on throttle management.
Double E is offline Find More Posts by Double E
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 05, 2012, 08:06 AM
Atlanta, GA
Joined Mar 2009
882 Posts
First decision made. I have ordered a set of custom molded Jet Tech tanks that will carry 60oz of fuel.

Now let's start talking about servos. I assume full size all around and I'm not looking to break the bank so I might look at Savox digitals but I need to check out the specs to make sure they are powerful enough.
Double E is offline Find More Posts by Double E
Old Nov 06, 2012, 06:47 AM
Pittsburgh Allegheny, Pennsylvania, United States
Joined May 2004
1,103 Posts
Welcome to the turbine world.