SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old May 08, 2014, 07:06 PM
Find More Posts by Highride
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Joined Sep 2007
765 Posts
Discussion
Art Hobby Fidelity

I've been flying the 2.0m Fidelity for about one month. It is new to the Art Hobby lineup. It is very light and handles much like a RES ship although it does have spoilerons. Although I'm very accustomed to ailerons, I find myself doing mostly rudder-only turns with the Fidelity. The upturned tips allow very flat turns.

Our weather has not been cooperative and today seemed no exception with 90+% sky cover and gusty winds. I took the Fidelity out anyway and was very surprised with enough radiant heat squeezing though and giving me something to ride on.

My Fidelity weighs 17.8 ounces, about one ounce heavier than Art Hobby estimates for the completed plane. I'm a pretty light builder and still have no idea where I have unnecessary weight since it is built without any modifications. Although I had intended flying with a lighter battery, I found a 910mAh Thunderpower was just right for adjusting my center of balance. The Fidelity can handle wind but is much more comfortable as a "light air" ship. I did find myself using the spoilerons more than usual today in some heavier gusts.

This plane can really float. During trimming, I took some short hops up to around 100 feet or so, flew for a bit then landed for a few changes. On one of these hops I picked up a bubble at well under 100 feet and did circuit after circuit. Fun! I also found myself in a serious argument with a strong thermal today and had to work hard to get out with a combination of spoilerons and some tight spirals. Picked up a little too much speed for my liking but enjoyed my Fidelity singing to me during my escape. No sweaty palms but pretty exciting for what looked like a dull day.

I find I must teach myself a new plane but it really looks like this will be one of my favorites. Still learning...forever an apprentice.

Dave