SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 20, 2012, 08:19 PM
JOHN 3:16
Sammy70's Avatar
Central Ohio
Joined Feb 2008
6,346 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab View Post
Thanks for the tip. So reflex up from level with bottom wing surface correct?


Yes.

I'd have to measure mine to be exact, but about 1/8" would be a good place to start.
Sammy70 is online now Find More Posts by Sammy70
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 21, 2012, 08:03 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,048 Posts
Well it wasn't gracefull or without some minor damage but it flies! Didn't have enought up elevon or maybe too much nose weight. Couldn't level it with trim alone so had to fly with back pressure which made it twitchy since the expo setting I had was all but useless with back stick for level. Plus my keychain cam crapped out so missed the best parts of the maiden, but got the first attempts and a bit at the end.

Should be great fun when it is trimmed though. Like it so far.

Popwing Maiden (3 min 47 sec)
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 01:01 PM
JOHN 3:16
Sammy70's Avatar
Central Ohio
Joined Feb 2008
6,346 Posts
Glad you got it going--were attempts #1 and #2 at full throttle?

I like to have someone else frisbee throw this wing for me, I also like a good bit of expo (40% for me on my Spektrum type radio).

Have fun!
Sammy70 is online now Find More Posts by Sammy70
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 04:48 PM
Where did that tree come from
kid at 55's Avatar
United States, SC, Lancaster
Joined Nov 2010
1,470 Posts
Popwing on my doorstep when I got home from work . Manual read to use CA glue. Is this what everyone is using and does it have to be foam safe ?
kid at 55 is offline Find More Posts by kid at 55
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 05:16 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,048 Posts
Doesn't have to be foam safe, EPP will take pretty much any glue fine. I used Welders to glue the wings together and the nose piece and mediaum CA on the rest.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 06:36 PM
Where did that tree come from
kid at 55's Avatar
United States, SC, Lancaster
Joined Nov 2010
1,470 Posts
One of my hinge line is stiff as a board. I tried bending it double and working it back and forth. But it still stiff. Any suggestion ?
kid at 55 is offline Find More Posts by kid at 55
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 08:51 PM
JOHN 3:16
Sammy70's Avatar
Central Ohio
Joined Feb 2008
6,346 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kid at 55 View Post
One of my hinge line is stiff as a board. I tried bending it double and working it back and forth. But it still stiff. Any suggestion ?

You could slice clear through the hinge line in just 2 or 3 places, each about 1/2" long and see if that helps.

Or, slice it clear off and rehinge it...
Sammy70 is online now Find More Posts by Sammy70
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 06:48 AM
Registered User
Grand Rapids MI.
Joined Feb 2011
404 Posts
Hello wing noob here
thinking bout buying a popwing from csrc (they got a deal going)
http://www.commonsenserc.com/page.ph...yard_sale.html

need a little advise though.....I have plenty of flying and building experience so I'm not a total dumb a## just never with a wing. I'm a bit torn between the popwing, or the swift 2 and also does the popwing come with good stuff in the rtf? or is it better to buy the arf and add better stuff myself as is the case with most planes. 75 bucks for the thing seems cheep enough if i comes with the motor and spektrum comp. rx but IDK if it includes servos and esc????

thanks OTTO

edit note: I'm sure there are a lot of little tips and tricks to build, set-up, ect. sorry I haven't read this thread but will so bare with me if my questions seem redundent! Just needed some info Stat like
thanks
OTTOFLYS is offline Find More Posts by OTTOFLYS
Last edited by OTTOFLYS; Mar 24, 2012 at 06:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 10:02 PM
Registered User
Grand Rapids MI.
Joined Feb 2011
404 Posts
so I sat down today for 30-40 minutes and read the thread... I cant believe what batteries some are using. But I have to say Bruce at CSRC was spot on when I ordered yesterday, 1350mah. And yes I did go with the large PW. I'm happy to see it can carry 2200mah aswell cuz I have plenty of those. Can't wait to get this thing up and ripping.
Already thinking bout upgrades. this should make her scoot: http://www.graysonhobby.com/catalog/...mbo-p-414.html
OTTOFLYS is offline Find More Posts by OTTOFLYS
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 10:15 PM
JOHN 3:16
Sammy70's Avatar
Central Ohio
Joined Feb 2008
6,346 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTTOFLYS View Post

I've got a couple of those motors sitting around and have thought the same as you....
Sammy70 is online now Find More Posts by Sammy70
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2012, 07:33 AM
Registered User
Grand Rapids MI.
Joined Feb 2011
404 Posts
Hey sammy I found something (that might be) better for a power upgrade.....guy at my LHS swears by it
http://www.subsonicplanes.com/Motrolfly_Motors.html
the 2210-1700 also he claims 85+mph with 2200kv and a 6x5.5 prop

he told me to stop out too field and check out his setup, I'll try to get video
OTTOFLYS is offline Find More Posts by OTTOFLYS
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2012, 08:26 AM
JOHN 3:16
Sammy70's Avatar
Central Ohio
Joined Feb 2008
6,346 Posts
cool!!
Sammy70 is online now Find More Posts by Sammy70
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2012, 11:17 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,048 Posts
Got the Popwing all trimemd out now with the added refles in elevons. It flys great! Got 3 packs in on it today. Minor nose damage on my last flight but glue is drying now :-)

Popwing Trimmed Out (2 min 47 sec)
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2012, 11:40 AM
JOHN 3:16
Sammy70's Avatar
Central Ohio
Joined Feb 2008
6,346 Posts
Glad you got it going now.

That sure is a LOT of trees around!
Sammy70 is online now Find More Posts by Sammy70
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2012, 12:08 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,048 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy70 View Post
Glad you got it going now.

That sure is a LOT of trees around!
Heh ya it is a tight space. I had it to a larger field after that to open it up a bit more, flies great.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Techone models?? lectroglide Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 5 Aug 07, 2011 01:54 PM
Sold Techone Energy EPP Foamy Wattsup23 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 9 Mar 31, 2011 03:28 AM
Sold Techone Piaget 3D EPP New in box $45 shipped! Lindy757 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Mar 17, 2011 11:01 PM
Discussion TechOne F3P??? cglynn Indoor Pattern/F3P 6 Mar 11, 2011 01:24 PM
Question techone malibu 2 or techone aeolus? genesis96 Indoor Pattern/F3P 16 Jan 19, 2011 01:02 PM