SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 26, 2005, 01:52 AM
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Mar 2005
35 Posts
Bob Aberle Piper Cub PA-11 scaled up?

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to e-flight and have been flying a parkzone Decathlon for a while and am really keen to build a 'simple' yet pleasant all balsa consturction to take the 'next step'.

I've built a couple of scale Peter Rake 36" models which I love (DH-6 & Eastbourne) - but I'm not going to risk flying these until I've cut my flying teeth on a simpler model that I'm less attached to!

While snooping around the net I came across the free plans for a PA-11 Piper Cub at 30" (http://www.backyardflyer.com/click_t...pipercub_1.asp) and was attracted to the good looks and fairly basic construction.

I'm interested in scaling this up to about 36" - 40" and using either a geared 280 or 400 sp motor. I don't have any idea what the weight would work out at - but am interested to get the opinion of more experienced modelers to see what you think?

So, some questions...

1. Do you think this plan would fly OK when scaled to ~ 36" - 40"? And if so - what size should I go for?

2. Any suggestions on the motor/gear ratio/prop & battery I would be looking at?
(I'm looking at a 280 or 400sp motor & NiMH batteries).

3. Anything else I should keep in mind or change on the plan when scaling up? Appropriate Dihedral, etc?

If it looks like a goer then I'll do a thread and we'll find out!

Thanks!

Cameron.
cam777cam is offline Find More Posts by cam777cam
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 26, 2005, 02:24 AM
Jaded Flyer
United States, FL, Clearwater
Joined Aug 2004
2,025 Posts
i've built this plane according to specs and it was a brick. never truly got off the ground. i've had pretty good success with all the other planes i've built except this one.

i tried absolutely everything and had to grossly overpower it just to get it airborne and it flew for all of 1-2 seconds before it flipped over and nosed in.