HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 18, 2014, 01:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2013
770 Posts
Discussion
ARRIS CM3000 PRO 3-Axis Brushless Gimbal **PRO Version**

Hobby-Wing sent me the new Arris CM3000 PRO to test. Things are looking very good.


cm3000-pro-002 by oakes.justin

cm3000-pro-003 by oakes.justin


First impressions are very good.

--Surprisingly, it comes with a frame IMU (2 IMU's). This is a new feature of the 32bit Alexmos board and I've never seen it done on a mini gimbal like this. Pretty cool.
--It's very nice quality. Better than the non-Pro unit.
--There's a new compression mount which looks promising.
--The GoPro cable provides 5v power (charges cam) and it's very light weight.

Couple negatives noticed off the bat
--The light GoPro cable is probably great to prevent binding but it looks very delicate. One hard tug and I'm guessing I would break it. It's an easy fix with some hot glue or heat shrink though.
--Pitch motor cable runs inside the frame and causes binding at 90 degrees. Easy fix too...just move cable to outside of frame.
--They need to ship it with an optional mount because I'm guessing most people aren't going to use the Tarot-style rail mount they included with mine. I'm using a rail mount so it's fine for me though.

Here's some test footage I shot in sub-optimal conditions. Very pleased with it so far...

CM3000 Pro First Test (0 min 53 sec)


IMG_6115 by oakes.justin

IMG_6116 by oakes.justin

IMG_6117 by oakes.justin

IMG_6118 by oakes.justin

IMG_6121 by oakes.justin
Jjjkkklll is online now Find More Posts by Jjjkkklll
Last edited by Jjjkkklll; Jun 24, 2014 at 02:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 18, 2014, 01:36 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined May 2005
1,112 Posts
What's the main difference that makes this a Pro version?
balbs is online now Find More Posts by balbs
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 01:37 PM
Registered User
tymrunner's Avatar
Joined Mar 2014
497 Posts
Here is a thread on the 32bit Alexmos board that came out in March.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2123657
tymrunner is offline Find More Posts by tymrunner
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 01:41 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined May 2005
1,112 Posts
Ahhh...Okay...I thought the non-pro version already had the 32-bit. Doh!
balbs is online now Find More Posts by balbs
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2014, 01:56 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2013
770 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by balbs View Post
What's the main difference that makes this a Pro version?
--32 bit Alexmos controller with 2 IMU's
--Larger Pan motor with slip ring (360 views)
--GoPro Charging cable
--Compression Mount (similar to Tarot)
Jjjkkklll is online now Find More Posts by Jjjkkklll
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 10:05 AM
Registered User
Ontario, Canada
Joined Feb 2004
87 Posts
Does the USB gopro cable capture audio?
I see a connector for video out but none audio out.
bob00 is online now Find More Posts by bob00
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 10:08 AM
Registered User
Norway, Vestfold, Larvik
Joined May 2012
255 Posts
when is the date
GTI20 is online now Find More Posts by GTI20
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 11:36 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2013
770 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob00 View Post
Does the USB gopro cable capture audio?
I see a connector for video out but none audio out.
The GoPro doesn't output the audio through the cable, but it does record it directly from the GoPro mic.

All you hear is motor and prop noise though....there's really no use for it anyway.
Jjjkkklll is online now Find More Posts by Jjjkkklll
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 11:39 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2013
770 Posts
A little update:

I finally got around to getting the new CM3000 Pro mounted to a hexa with retracts.

This thing is a HUGE improvement over the non-Pro CM3000. The PIDs were WAYYYY off out of the box but I tuned it properly and this thing is nearly perfect already.

I should have time to do a very basic cut of sample footage later today so you guys can see. I am extremely pleased with it so far, and I've only flown it three times.

I'll send my tune to Hobby-Wing so they can change the settings on the units they sell. The ones it arrived with we're nowhere close what a 32bit alexmos needs. I did get a test unit though.
Jjjkkklll is online now Find More Posts by Jjjkkklll
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 02:02 PM
Registered User
Ontario, Canada
Joined Feb 2004
87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jjjkkklll View Post
The GoPro doesn't output the audio through the cable, but it does record it directly from the GoPro mic.

All you hear is motor and prop noise though....there's really no use for it anyway.
Thanks.
BTW - load rails: what diameter and spacing is required for the compression mount to work?
bob00 is online now Find More Posts by bob00
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 02:16 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2013
770 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob00 View Post
Thanks.
BTW - load rails: what diameter and spacing is required for the compression mount to work?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob00 View Post
Thanks.
BTW - load rails: what diameter and spacing is required for the compression mount to work?
I'm not sure of the diameter. My rails are both too large and too small. I just zip tied it to the smaller rails though and it's working great.

I also lengthened the compression mount standoff to 15mm from 10mm because of a clearance issue I had with my particular rig.

I just got back from a flight. The weather is getting nasty again so I put it into gps mode and snapped a few camera phone pics. Dangerous, stupid move but I'm dangerous and stupid sometimes lol.

Here's a crappy pic. Vid to come.
Jjjkkklll is online now Find More Posts by Jjjkkklll
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 05:42 PM
Beware Of The Shills !!!
Chichester Sussex
Joined Aug 2007
2,616 Posts
Jjjkkklll,
I assumed you were running maybe a hex or something rather than a 450 with that gimbal / the weight, what motors / props are you running and 3 or 4s ???
Witterings is offline Find More Posts by Witterings
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 05:49 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2013
770 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Witterings View Post
Jjjkkklll,
I assumed you were running maybe a hex or something rather than a 450 with that gimbal / the weight, what motors / props are you running and 3 or 4s ???
I flew it on a 450 quad a few times too and it works great. I just went one of my hexas because it has retracts.

This is setup for a full two-man crew, so the extra lift and redundancy helps out. It's not necessary though if you built it up super lightweight.

I'm going to use this rig to train new camera operators. Much less risk than with one of my octos+red or whatever.

This hexa is 4s dji e300. Runs great. Completely stock ARF. AUW is 2600grams and I get 8min with 80% of a 5ah pack. Perfect for what I need it for.
Jjjkkklll is online now Find More Posts by Jjjkkklll
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 06:14 PM
aka Helidaho
AeroVideoUS's Avatar
United States, ID, Boise
Joined Jun 2010
2,765 Posts
Near as I can tell this is available now correct?
AeroVideoUS is online now Find More Posts by AeroVideoUS
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2014, 06:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2013
770 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroVideoUS View Post
Near as I can tell this is available now correct?
Oh yeah it looks like it is. Weird. They said they were sending the tester to me to provide feedback for the final version. Maybe something was lost in translation.

Well if you buy it you should ask about it in this thread because the tune out of the box is far off. I'll help out though.
Jjjkkklll is online now Find More Posts by Jjjkkklll
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion .ARRIS CM3000 3-Axis Brushless Gimbal . nancy1987 Multirotor Talk 1201 Dec 20, 2014 09:03 AM
Discussion ARRIS CM3000 PRO 3 Axis Brushless Gimbal for GoPro 3/3+ myrcmodel Multirotor Talk 15 Oct 24, 2014 12:29 AM
News ARRIS CM3000 3-Axis Brushless Gimbal Plug And Play For The GoPro! Sleepyc Multirotor Talk 5 Apr 08, 2014 12:15 PM