HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 14, 2013, 10:31 PM
Joined Nov 2005
118 Posts
Discussion
Dumas Huson 24 kit #1117

Hi all im looking at building a small sail boat like the 24'' Huson .I have been involved in the r/c boat hobby for 35 years mainly scratch building nitro and fast electric race boats from wood. I have no experience with sail boats.Is the Huson 24 a good sail boat ? Are there some up grades that can be made to this kit for performance as its a 25 + yr old kit? Any input would be great. Regards Andris Golts.
riggerman is offline Find More Posts by riggerman
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 15, 2013, 12:36 PM
Sequim, WA
Joined Jan 2004
182 Posts
My Huson 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by riggerman View Post
Hi all im looking at building a small sail boat like the 24'' Huson. I have no experience with sail boats.Is the Huson 24 a good sail boat ? Are there some up grades that can be made to this kit for performance as its a 25 + yr old kit? Any input would be great. Regards Andris Golts.
Andris,
I built one several years ago when I was living in Laramie Wyoming and it sailed nicely in some decent winds. Is yours the wood hull or the fiberglass hull. It was my first boat model and it had the planked hull. The build went very well. I had a little trouble bending the balsa wood for the planks. I'm working on a Canterbury J now and I've come up with a good way of softening the wood so I can bend it. Here is a link to my build of the CJ with my bending tank. http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...=cj+503&page=5
The only mistake I made was with some spacing at the aft end of the cockpit, I used the wrong size wood for the spacers, the size I used was too small. It wasn't very hard to fix. I added DuBro turn buckles on the stays and also on the boomvang.
Here are a couple of pictures of my boat, I had just added the turnbuckles and hadn't trimmed the excess lines yet. I wanted to be sure that I had them tight enough.