HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 04, 2012, 02:53 PM
Registered User
3d astronaut's Avatar
United States, MI, Paw Paw
Joined Sep 2011
4,102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike20 View Post
Anyone else having trouble with their elevators? I have down but when I want to go up it seems they only go half way up it just started this on my second run. I had to put a lot of down trim cause it wanted to nose dive.
Try moving your battery back a little bit as it seems your center of gravity is off. When you have to input all of that down trim, you eliminate that much travel in the opposite direction.
3d astronaut is offline Find More Posts by 3d astronaut
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Fatshark Attitude 1.3ghz
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 04, 2012, 02:59 PM
Registered User
trroadster's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Oct 2006
463 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike20 View Post
Anyone else having trouble with their elevators? I have down but when I want to go up it seems they only go half way up it just started this on my second run. I had to put a lot of down trim cause it wanted to nose dive.
Down trim will push the nose down, not up. Check your CG. Then check your control surfaces and mechanically adjust to neutral. "Cause u kept crashing" they may be damaged or out of adjustment.

By your description I'd guess that you are over controlling . Use subtle stick movements. If your TX allows, set expo to 40-50%. This allows you to have less control surface deflection near the stick centre but full deflection at full stick.
Good luck
trroadster is offline Find More Posts by trroadster
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 03:01 PM
Registered User
trroadster's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Oct 2006
463 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloudflying View Post
Try moving your battery back a little bit as it seems your center of gravity is off. When you have to input all of that down trim, you eliminate that much travel in the opposite direction.
Agree there could be a CG issue but "down trim " does not correct nose heavyness. Just the opposite.
trroadster is offline Find More Posts by trroadster
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 03:04 PM
CV-15 VB-16
giuseppi's Avatar
USA, TX, Friendswood
Joined Jul 2007
1,371 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike20 View Post
Anyone else having trouble with their elevators? I have down but when I want to go up it seems they only go half way up it just started this on my second run. I had to put a lot of down trim cause it wanted to nose dive.
I remember earlier in this thread some others were experiencing a similar problem in which one elevator had more throw than the other. Their solution was to adjust the control rod position in the control horn of the offending elevator.

Maybe you need to adjust both?

g
giuseppi is online now Find More Posts by giuseppi
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 04:40 PM
Team30 Micro EDF
NitroCharged's Avatar
Adelaide, Australia
Joined Apr 2004
11,196 Posts
The elevator servo may have moved - pushing the elevator down, thanks to 'all those crashes'... ?
NitroCharged is offline Find More Posts by NitroCharged
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2012, 09:15 PM
Registered User
Mike20's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
544 Posts
I can't move the battery back any further and my expos are set to 50%. I did notice one elevator not moving as much as the other and I tried adjusting it but the control rod broke right where it bends to keep it in place. I just seem to not have any luck with it. I ordered all new hardware,fuselage, and wing and tail surfaces. Since I broke the wing and elevator on my last try. Anyone have a way to move the control rods on the control horn without bending the control rod and breaking it? (hobbicos idea)
Mike20 is offline Find More Posts by Mike20
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 09:58 PM
Registered User
Mike20's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
544 Posts
Anyone know how much expo I can put in using my dx6i? I can fly the plane fine when I think about slow movements, it's not hard to fly at all. But there's times where I put too much input into the control and it causes me to crash. I already have +50,+50, and +45. (top,middle,bottom) I just hate that I fly so well but panic when my plane rolls too much and end up crashing anyway. I guess practice makes perfect huh?

Ps also has anyone experienced a sticking elevator (when looking at the back of the plane) the right elevator doesn't move as much as the left one. Has anyone come up with a fix for this?
Mike20 is offline Find More Posts by Mike20
Last edited by Mike20; Oct 05, 2012 at 11:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 04:20 PM
Registered User
B Thompson's Avatar
United States, CA, Stockton
Joined Feb 2012
68 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike20 View Post
I can't move the battery back any further and my expos are set to 50%. I did notice one elevator not moving as much as the other and I tried adjusting it but the control rod broke right where it bends to keep it in place. I just seem to not have any luck with it. I ordered all new hardware,fuselage, and wing and tail surfaces. Since I broke the wing and elevator on my last try. Anyone have a way to move the control rods on the control horn without bending the control rod and breaking it? (hobbicos idea)
When you do your rebuild position the rods in the horns where you want them because moving them later requires cutting the horns out and using CA to reinstall or you can make ajustments by moving the servo around and leaving the horns alone! I've done it both ways and like moving the servo around.

Your hardware package will come with a metal rod system to use on the elevators, not CF system anymore, I had to stare at it for awhile to figure it out but it has less flexing and works much better IMHO.

IMPORTANT! Cut the slots longer where the rods pass thru the fuse mainly on the right side but I have had to do the left side to (look at the picture!) It may not look like it is hanging up but it can bind on the inside of the fuse skin! Get the knife out! Then use tape where you can to keep air from sneaking out that area!

Once your elevators are working together your "roll into a crash" problems should disappear like mine did! The guys at my FC love the way mine flies now! I have two, a rebuild with skids and a new $99 one that has wheels installed. Oh and you make about $5 to $8 an hour doing the rebuild vs buying one for $99! But hey its fun!
B Thompson is offline Find More Posts by B Thompson
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 11:03 PM
Registered User
Mike20's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
544 Posts
@B Thompson thanks for the help. I was planning on widening the slots for the control rods cause I think it is binding. I just gotta wait for my wing and tail surfaces to come in after they get in stock. I guess my glued wings will do while I practice some more. Also nitrocharged sent me his low rate setup for his d/r and expos. He uses a dx7 and I use a dx6i so it's the same. So I'm gonna try all of these before I get a new sabre. That way it doesn't look like the Frankenstein version I have now lol. What do you use the skids for? Grass landings?

Ps another question when I go to cut open my old sabre do I just go along the cut out with a knife like how I do with my champ? Also how do I get my wings off the old fuselage?
Mike20 is offline Find More Posts by Mike20
Last edited by Mike20; Oct 06, 2012 at 11:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 04:29 PM
Registered User
B Thompson's Avatar
United States, CA, Stockton
Joined Feb 2012
68 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike20 View Post
@B Thompson thanks for the help. I was planning on widening the slots for the control rods cause I think it is binding. I just gotta wait for my wing and tail surfaces to come in after they get in stock. I guess my glued wings will do while I practice some more. Also nitrocharged sent me his low rate setup for his d/r and expos. He uses a dx7 and I use a dx6i so it's the same. So I'm gonna try all of these before I get a new sabre. That way it doesn't look like the Frankenstein version I have now lol. What do you use the skids for? Grass landings?

Ps another question when I go to cut open my old sabre do I just go along the cut out with a knife like how I do with my champ? Also how do I get my wings off the old fuselage?
Its good not to fly a new one yet, I did not do my rebuild until I absolutely had to when I lost part of a control surface on a rough landing, thats why I put skids on my rebuild to protect the control hardware when landing in the rough or grass and I can slid nicely down a paved runway with the skids!

Yes you cut it open like the Champ. You can probably cut the wing away from the fuse or the fuse away from the wing and save one or the other but I would be surprised if you could save both. I never separated mine when I rebuilt.
B Thompson is offline Find More Posts by B Thompson
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 06:55 PM
Registered User
Mike20's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
544 Posts
Ok thanks for the help. I was thinking about waiting a little bit anyway cause the wing and tail are on back order. But I will tear into it and see if I can put my AR6400 receiver in it and see if that elevator servo is messed up or not. Has anyone upgraded the servos? To maybe high speed or high torque. I don't know if they make micro high torque servos but I used them all the time on my nitro cars with success.
Mike20 is offline Find More Posts by Mike20
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 07:42 PM
Registered User
3d astronaut's Avatar
United States, MI, Paw Paw
Joined Sep 2011
4,102 Posts
So I was contacted by a member here that works for Great Planes(Hobbico) after they saw my post about the motor cap. This generous person used his resources to send me a brand new in the package motor. I cannot thank you enough. This kind of customer service is just amazing. I will be supporting this company for many MANY years to come.
3d astronaut is offline Find More Posts by 3d astronaut
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Fatshark Attitude 1.3ghz
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 07:55 PM
Registered User
Mike20's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
544 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloudflying View Post
So I was contacted by a member here that works for Great Planes(Hobbico) after they saw my post about the motor cap. This generous person used his resources to send me a brand new in the package motor. I cannot thank you enough. This kind of customer service is just amazing. I will be supporting this company for many MANY years to come.
Hey that's awesome to read. That's definitely the kind of support all rc companies should have.
Mike20 is offline Find More Posts by Mike20
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 10:48 PM
Wonderfully Wicked
The Don's Avatar
Willoughby, Ohio
Joined Jan 2002
13,011 Posts
Just ordered mine :-)

Don
The Don is online now Find More Posts by The Don
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 08, 2012, 11:05 PM
Registered User
Mike20's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
544 Posts
@ the don I think you'll like it. It is stable when outside with winds so I can only imagine it'll get better inside with no winds. Only problem I see great planes should've worked harder on is the passage for the control rods to the elevators. They tend to bind cause its kind of a tight fit. I had a member recommend opening up the hole by cutting foam away(see picture below). As soon as I get to my house I'm gonna try it. Happy flying.Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1349755530.496936.jpg
Views: 61
Size: 135.7 KB
Description:
Mike20 is offline Find More Posts by Mike20
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Sabre Jet F86 30mm EDF by Great Planes..TX-Ready (TX-R)..or RTF Version 15'' WS modfly Micro Ready-to-Fly 151 Dec 20, 2012 08:20 PM
Sold Eflite F-86 Sabre BNF EDF Jet NEVER FLOWN ready to fly!!!! thutt3430 Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 1 Apr 17, 2011 10:34 PM