Old Sep 03, 2015, 07:34 PM
Find More Posts by kurtataltos
Joined Dec 2014
296 Posts
Discussion
Phase3 Phoenix II HobbyPeople Kit Build

This is a quicky build document on a Phase3 Phoenix II from HobbyPeople. It is NOT the Phoenix II from HobbyKing. Two names, two entirely different planes.

Big picture: I have never flown ailerons. This is intended to be a “how much trouble can I get into learning to fly ailerons” plane. I have flown RES/REF for quite some time, off an on, thermaling. I wanted something to “play with” other than simply thermal. I am a rookie builder. I used to fly Oly’s and Sagitta’s 30 years ago but am just getting back into it. I semi-rationally decided not to have my first aileron plane be a $1373 ArtHobby as the chances of instant re-kitting are significant. Have not flown this plane yet as there is a 25mph breeze outside, gusting to 40. I’ll wait a day or two and report.

Overall the build was not difficult.
- I have an 1800mah battery set in place just for fit. I have a 2200mah to trial fit as well. There is enough room for either but I need to tidy up the canopy area first.
- The wings fit tight into the fuse.
- The spar fits tight into the wings. Very tight.
- The graphics are, eh… ok, I guess. Bubbles were worked out on the graphics that I didn’t remove
- I am using a HobbyPeople 40A ESC, probably gross overkill. I gave the prop a trial run and everything was fine, almost pure ambient.
- I am using an old AR600 receiver. Works. Nothing special.
- Shipping was ground, took about 4 days.