SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Aug 23, 2014, 12:03 AM
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Nov 2010
4,127 Posts
Cool
Lets design an open source 3D printed micro Outrigger Race boat

Hey guys, first off let me start by saying that I have little knowledge in boat dynamics and design. I do however have a vast knowledge of aircraft design and aerodynamics, as well as a very thorough understanding of fluid dynamics of all types.

This being said I have really wanted to build a quick little boat, preferably sponson, and I would like to 3d print it. I would like to run some of the more common "micro" components as seen in other "pool racers" etc.

I am looking for someone to bounce some ideas off of, and in general have a fun little adventure designing printing and building a mini sponson style race boat!

To start off, I would like the main hull no larger than 40mm x 220mm, and the sponsons can be any size. I have a few hydro dynamic idea I would like to try out, such as hydro foiled "steerable" sponsons. not hydrofoiled in the sense that they "climb" but more so in the sense that when deflected at an angle, similar to caster on a car, it will suck the inside sponson down helping "track" around a corner... Again, just ideas that would be easy to rapidly prototype and try out!

Anyways, If you would like to help out you are more than welcome. I will be working primarily in Sketchup due to the ease of exproting to STL for 3d printing. I do have quite a bit of solidworks expertise, but would prefer to keep this as open as possible, and sketchup is easier to do this with.

In general the parts I am looking for help with are general dynamics, such as center of gravity, a "plane" step (not sure the correct nomenclature, placement, use, or lack of). However in the mean time I would like to utilize the benefits of 3d printing and print something much better looking such as this instead of something easily buildable such as this