HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Yesterday, 08:15 PM
Joined Aug 2012
13 Posts
Discussion
Thinking about getting another plane

Hi everyone!

So a little more than 2 years ago i bought the HobbyZone Champ. Everyone was calling it indestructible so i thought why not?

It was my first RC plane (not counting air hogs) and i remember being really excited.

So i took it to a nearby small park and took off, I remember that the takeoff was smooth and it flew really well, then i turned it around. Being a complete rookie, i had forgotten that the controls become inverted and the plane started heading for a group for people, in a moment of panic, i lost all control and nosedived the plane into the grass which snapped off the wing. I put some tape on it and it flew again although it was "clunky" and this time it just fell straight out of the sky and broke pretty much everything.

So my total flight time was maybe a minute, it sucked $90 down the drain

But now I've got the itch again, should i try buying it again and see if i fare better this time around, is it possible to fly the Champ in your average backyard?
Areeb319 is offline Find More Posts by Areeb319
to remove ads between posts
Old Yesterday, 11:35 PM
Fly-Crash-Rebuild-Repeat
Joined Jan 2011
117 Posts
If you're itching to buy another Champ I'd say go for it! I never owned one myself but I know several RC pilots at my flying club who have one- they're great little fliers!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Areeb319 View Post
, is it possible to fly the Champ in your average backyard?
Depends what you mean by "average backyard". Mine is ~100ft by ~70ft, I fly my ParkZone Citabria (similar to the champ) there quite often without incident. You need to be quick on the sticks though if flying in a space that small, I would recommend getting some practice at a large open field first until you're comfortable with the airplane.
Rogue_Pilot is offline Find More Posts by Rogue_Pilot
Old Today, 12:28 AM
Beginner RC Pilot