New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Aug 23, 2015, 12:52 PM
astropuppy is offline
Find More Posts by astropuppy
Registered User
United States, ID, Boise
Joined Feb 2002
193 Posts
Help!
PL6 not booting

I have 2 PL6's and one has stopped booting. Just a blank screen. CCS says "No data from PL6".

The other charger works fine so I know its not the ps. Ideas?
astropuppy is offline Find More Posts by astropuppy
Last edited by astropuppy; Aug 23, 2015 at 01:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 23, 2015, 08:01 PM
Gregor99 is offline
Find More Posts by Gregor99
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,456 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by astropuppy View Post
I have 2 PL6's and one has stopped booting. Just a blank screen. CCS says "No data from PL6".

The other charger works fine so I know its not the ps. Ideas?
If the screen shows black squares, then it can be recovered using the firmware update. In the CCS, select firmware update.
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2015, 08:08 PM
astropuppy is offline
Find More Posts by astropuppy
Registered User
United States, ID, Boise
Joined Feb 2002
193 Posts
When I do a firmware update it fails. I do not think CCs is connecting to the charger. And yes it shows black squares
astropuppy is offline Find More Posts by astropuppy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2015, 08:36 PM
Gregor99 is offline
Find More Posts by Gregor99
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,456 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by astropuppy View Post
When I do a firmware update it fails. I do not think CCs is connecting to the charger. And yes it shows black squares
In this state, the charger will not show that its connected to the CCS. But the firmware update will be able to communicate with the bootstrap firmware in the charger for recovery. First try a firmware update. If that fails, check in Windows Device manager to see which com port the FUIM is connected to. Then manually set the com port in the CCS and retry the firmware update.
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2015, 10:33 PM
astropuppy is offline
Find More Posts by astropuppy
Registered User
United States, ID, Boise
Joined Feb 2002
193 Posts
First off gregor99 I would like to say thankyou for your help. You are the reason forums work.

This charger had this problem several months ago. Assigning a port fixed it at that time. Not sure if this has anything to do with it; but I'm using a win10 machine; actually I've tried it on two different machines today. Can't remember what the OS was last time I recovered it.

Here's a couple screen shots. It appears the port is timing out.
astropuppy is offline Find More Posts by astropuppy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2015, 10:40 PM
Gregor99 is offline
Find More Posts by Gregor99
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,456 Posts
Sorry, the images are too small to read. Can you post larger images?
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2015, 08:28 AM
astropuppy is offline
Find More Posts by astropuppy
Registered User
United States, ID, Boise
Joined Feb 2002
193 Posts
Sorry about that, I posted just before going to bed. I'll get some larger images tonight after work.
astropuppy is offline Find More Posts by astropuppy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2015, 07:18 PM
astropuppy is offline
Find More Posts by astropuppy
Registered User
United States, ID, Boise
Joined Feb 2002
193 Posts
I've been working with Howard at FMA. He's very helpful. Unfortunately nothing has worked. For the purpose of spreading the word: Howard said it may take several try's and to check the pins in the FUIM3. Just something to consider if you end up with this problem.

Below is what I tried to capture in pictures last night:

Here's what comes back, log further down.



Scanning all Comm Ports for Firmware Update
Checking Port COM5 for firmware update...

Error with Firmware Update. Try the Following Steps

1) Remove power from the PowerLab 6. Remove the adapter from the PowerLab 6. Wait 30 seconds.
2) Apply 12-24V power to the PowerLab 6. Connect the PC adapter to the PowerLab 6.
3) Try a different Comm Port (bottom left)
4) Make sure the Comm Port is OPEN

LOG

Software Started 18:07:39 08-24-2015
V1.11 Chosen 18:07:50
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened 115.2Kbs PASSED 18:08:14
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened
COM5 Opened

Starting Firmware Programming on port COM5 0mS 0mS
Send Password 115.2Kbs 468mS 468mS
characters read = 202 63mS 531mS
RX(1) = (112) 0mS 531mS
RX(2) = (112) 0mS 531mS
RX(98) = (112) 0mS 531mS
RX(99) = (112) 0mS 531mS
RX(100) = (80) 0mS 531mS
RX(101) = (32) 0mS 531mS
RX(102) = (32) 0mS 531mS
Bad Product Code Abort = True 0mS 531mS
astropuppy is offline Find More Posts by astropuppy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2015, 11:25 PM
Gregor99 is offline
Find More Posts by Gregor99
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,456 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by astropuppy View Post
Bad Product Code Abort = True 0mS 531mS
Glad to hear it. Are you absolutely sure you have a Powerlab6 and not a Powerlab8?
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2015, 06:19 AM
astropuppy is offline
Find More Posts by astropuppy
Registered User
United States, ID, Boise
Joined Feb 2002
193 Posts
Yepper, owned it since it was new. I really like these chargers which is why I own 2 of them.
astropuppy is offline Find More Posts by astropuppy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2015, 01:07 PM
Gregor99 is offline
Find More Posts by Gregor99
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,456 Posts
Thanks for checking. I assume Howard will be taking a look at it.
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! 3DR Pixhawk will not boot - Sold Red LED (Video) TomTomTuning Multirotor Electronics 1 Jul 21, 2015 08:31 PM
Help! kk2.1 not booting Jama85 Multirotor Electronics 0 Jul 20, 2015 02:13 PM
Discussion How to not get Jack Booted bildo baggins Life, The Universe, and Politics 1 Dec 06, 2014 07:07 AM
Discussion Are we at war,or not.Do we have 'boots on the ground'.or not ? realtimerecon Life, The Universe, and Politics 18 Sep 22, 2014 12:04 PM
Help! Multiwii Pro 2 not booting with uBlox 6M GPS IronAwe Multirotor Talk 1 Apr 26, 2014 11:10 AM